Research Guides
Russian, East European and Central Asian Studies (REECAS): Find Books, Theses
Starting points for finding and using UW Libraries' resources from and about Russia, Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union
Spotlight On Recent Scholarship
Comparative Politics and Government of the Baltic States by
Comparative Politics and Government of the Baltic States provides an accessible, comprehensive and balanced comparative analysis of the political development and reinvention of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania since seizing independence from a disintegrating Soviet Union in August 1991. Daunis Auers initially considers the political history of the region before focusing on the different constitutional and institutional choices made by Baltic leaders in the early 1990s. Auers compares constitutions, parliaments and executives as well as local governments, courts, bureaucracies and domestic security services. Other chapters analyse political parties and electoral systems, as well as the comparative development of civil society, the impact of corruption, and the political salience of latent ethnic tensions between titular-Russophone communities in Estonia and, especially, Latvia. The final chapters address economic, social and welfare developments as well as the Baltic states' cooperation in their common, crucial pursuit for external security.
Call Number: Suzzallo StacksISBN: 9781137369963Publication Date: 2015
Constructing the Uzbek State by
Over the past three decades, Uzbekistan has attracted the attention of the academic and policy communities because of its geostrategic importance, its critical role in shaping or unshaping Central Asia as a region, its economic and trade potential, and its demographic weight: every other Central Asian being Uzbek, Uzbekistan's political, social, and cultural evolutions largely exemplify the transformations of the region as a whole. And yet, more than 25 years after the collapse of the Soviet Union, evaluating Uzbekistan's post-Soviet transformation remains complicated. Practitioners and scholars have seen access to sources, data, and fieldwork progressively restricted since the early 2000s. The death of President Islam Karimov, in power for a quarter of century, in late 2016, reopened the future of the country, offering it more room for evolution. To better grasp the challenges facing post-Karimov Uzbekistan, this volume reviews nearly three decades of independence. In the first part, it discusses the political construct of Uzbekistan under Karimov, based on the delineation between the state, the elite, and the people, and the tight links between politics and economy. The second section of the volume delves into the social and cultural changes related to labor migration and one specific trigger - the difficulties to reform agriculture. The third part explores the place of religion in Uzbekistan, both at the state level and in society, while the last part looks at the renegotiation of collective identities.
Call Number: DK948.865 .C66 2017 (Suzzallo Stacks)ISBN: 9781498538367Publication Date: 2017
Maidan Uprising, Separatism and Foreign Intervention by
The current crisis in Ukraine has revealed a striking lack of background knowledge about Ukraine's history and politics among West European politicians, journalists, intellectuals and even many academics. In this book, experts from Poland, Ukraine, the US, Russia and Western Europe fill the gap between an omnipresent and easily available narrative about Russia and a scarce, scattered knowledge about Ukraine. They show what history and political science can offer for a better understanding of the crisis and provide insights, which are based on reliable Ukrainian, Russian, Polish and Turkish sources and confidential interviews with key actors and advisors. Rather than offering easy answers, the authors present facts and knowledge, which enables the reader to make up his own informed opinion.
Call Number: DK508.848 .M35 2014 (Suzzallo Stacks)ISBN: 9783631654569Publication Date: 2014
Power in Modern Russia by
The book explores the Russian leadership's strategic agenda and illuminates the range of problems it faces in implementing it. Given these difficulties and the Russian leadership's concerns about an unstable and increasingly competitive world, the Russian official and expert community often use the term 'mobilisation' to describe the measures that Moscow is increasingly resorting to in order to implement its agenda. The book explores what this means, and concludes that many of the terms used in the Western debate about Russia both misdiagnose the nature of the challenge and misrepresent the situation in Russia. At a time when many of the books about Russia are focused specifically on the war in Ukraine and the deterioration in relations between the Euro-Atlantic community and Russia, or are biographies of Vladimir Putin, it offers a new and unique lens through which to understand how Russia works and how Russian domestic and foreign politics are intimately linked.
Call Number: JN6695 .M66 2017 (Odegaard Stacks)ISBN: 9781526126412Publication Date: 2017
Putin's Kleptocracy by
The raging question in the world today is who is the real Vladimir Putin and what are his intentions. Karen Dawisha's brilliant Putin's Kleptocracy provides an answer, describing how Putin got to power, the cabal he brought with him, the billions they have looted, and his plan to restore the Greater Russia. Russian scholar Dawisha describes and exposes the origins of Putin's kleptocratic regime. She presents extensive new evidence about the Putin circle's use of public positions for personal gain even before Putin became president in 2000. She documents the establishment of Bank Rossiya, now sanctioned by the US; the rise of the Ozero cooperative, founded by Putin and others who are now subject to visa bans and asset freezes; the links between Putin, Petromed, and "Putin's Palace" near Sochi; and the role of security officials from Putin's KGB days in Leningrad and Dresden, many of whom have maintained their contacts with Russian organized crime. Putin's Kleptocracy is the result of years of research into the KGB and the various Russian crime syndicates. Dawisha's sources include Stasi archives; Russian insiders; investigative journalists in the US, Britain, Germany, Finland, France, and Italy; and Western officials who served in Moscow. Russian journalists wrote part of this story when the Russian media was still free. "Many of them died for this story, and their work has largely been scrubbed from the Internet, and even from Russian libraries," Dawisha says. "But some of that work remains."
Call Number: DK510.766.P87 D39 2014 (Odegaard Stacks)ISBN: 9781476795195Publication Date: 2014
UW Libraries Search
Search Other Major Collections of Print and Digital Material
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowSearch the holdings of over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Use this search to find books and other materials not available in UW and Summit Libraries. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not owned by UW Libraries or its borrowing partners.
- Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Academic collection numbering millions of digitized books and journals held by North America's largest research libraries.
- ALA/LC Cyrillic Transliteration TablesProvides standards for transliteration of Cyrillic to Roman characters used in all North American online catalogs.
National Library Catalogs from the REECA Region
Links to the web catalogs of major East European and Eurasian national libraries are listed here:
Dissertations and Theses
- Catalog of Russian DissertationsIndexes Russian academic dissertations defended 1995 to present. Hosted by the Russian State Library, Moscow.
- DisserCat - Russian electronic dissertationsOffers fee-based access to any of over 400,000 Russian doctoral dissertations.
- Dissertations & Theses Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of most North American dissertations defended since 1990. Includes some West European dissertations. - UW REECAS M.A. Theses, 2012-UW theses and dissertations defended since 2012 available in online format only. For pre-2012 REECAS M.A. theses, visit Suzzallo stacks or browse the online catalog for call number: DK 5.Th
Subject Classification: Browsing the Book Stacks
Slavic and East European materials are located throughout the UW Libraries system in all subject classifications. The following table shows the call number ranges of the most significant concentrations of material:
| B 4200-4279 | Philosophy in Russia |
| BR 930-938 | Church and state in Russia and the USSR |
| BX 200-756 | Eastern Orthodox church history |
| DAW | History of Central Europe overall |
| DB 901-999 | History of Hungary |
| DB 2000-3150 | History of Czech Republic and Slovakia |
| DJK | History of Eastern Europe overall |
| DK 1-264 | History of the Russian Empire |
| DK 265-293 | History of the Soviet Union |
| DK 502 | History of the Baltics overall |
| DK 503 | History of Estonia |
| DK 504 | History of Latvia |
| DK 505 | History of Lithuania |
| DK 507 | History of Belarus |
| DK 508 | History of Ukraine |
| DK 510-651 | History of Russian Federation (1991- ) |
| DK 670-679 | History of Republic of Georgia |
| DK 680-689 | History of Armenia |
| DK 690-699 | History of Azerbaijan |
| DK 845-860 | History of Central Asia overall |
| DK 901-910 | History of Kazakhstan |
| DK 911-920 | History of Kyrgyzstan |
| DK 921-930 | History of Tajikistan |
| DK 931-940 | History of Turkmenistan |
| DK 941-950 | History of Uzbekistan |
| DK 4010-4800 | History of Poland |
| DR 51-98 | History of Bulgaria |
| DR 201-296 | History of Romania |
| DR 1202-1313 | History of Yugoslavia (1918-1995) |
| DR 1352-1485 | History of Slovenia |
| DR 1502-1645 | History of Croatia |
| DR 1652-1785 | History of Bosnia |
| DR 1802-1928 | History of Montenegro |
| DR 1932-2125 | History of Serbia |
| DR 2152-2285 | History of Macedonia |
| GR 138 | Slavic folklore (general) |
| GR 202-203 | Russian folklore |
| GR 204 | Baltic folklore |
| GR 250-260 | Balkan and South Slavic folklore |
| HC 330-340.19 | Russian economic conditions |
| HC 340.3 | Polish economic conditions and policy |
| HN 530 | Russian social conditions |
| HN 537-539 | Polish social conditions |
| HV 8224-8227 | Russian and Soviet secret police |
| JN 6695-6699 | Russian politics and government |
| JN 6750-6797 | Polish politics and government |
| L (various ranges) | Russian and East European educational systems |
| M (various ranges) | Baltic choral music; Russian music history |
| N 6996-6999 | Russian art history |
| NA 1181-1199 | Russian architecture |
| ND 681-699 | Russian painting |
| PC 601-872 | Romanian language and literature |
| PG 801-1146 | Bulgarian language and literature |
| PG 1151-1199 | Macedonian language and literature |
| PG 1201-1749 | Bosnian-Croatian-Serbian language and literature |
| PG 1801-1962 | Slovene language and literature |
| PG 2001-2826 | Russian language and linguistics |
| PG 2830-2847 | Belarusian language and literature |
| PG 2900-3698 | Russian literature and criticism |
| PG 3801-3987 | Ukrainian language and literature |
| PG 4001-5146 | Czech language and literature |
| PG 5201-5546 | Slovak language and literature |
| PG 6001-7446 | Polish language and literature |
| PG 8501-8772 | Lithuanian language and literature |
| PG 8801-9146 | Latvian language and literature |
| PH 601-671 | Estonian language and literature |
| PH 2001-3445 | Hungarian language and literature |
| PK 8000-8832 | Armenian language and literature |
| PK 9101-9169 | Georgian language and literature |
| PN 1993.5 | East European film history |
| PN 2720-2729 | Russian theater history |
| Z 2483-2519 | Slavic and East European bibliographies |