Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Spanish Studies
- Encyclopedias & Overviews
Spanish Studies: Encyclopedias & Overviews
Literary Overviews
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, topic overviews, and critical essays.
- A Companion to Latin American Literature and CultureEdited by Sara Castro-Klaren
2022, 2nd ed., John Wiley & Sons Ltd. - Colonial Latin American Literature: A Very Short Introduction2011: Oxford University Press
- Modern Latin American Literature: A Very Short Introduction2011: Oxford University Press
- Spanish Literature: A Very Short Introduction2010: Oxford University Press
Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. - Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas
Biographies
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for your author by name, and then limit results to "Biographies." - World Biographical Information System Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Worldwide index to older biographies; good for obscure individuals.
- Using UW Libraries Search
In Advanced Search, choose "subject" from the drop-down menu, and enter the term "biography". Add your author's name as a keyword (or subject) in the next field.
- Author Websites
For living authors, does the author have a personal website? Do a Google Search, or look for an author website in the External Links section on Wikipedia.
Bibliographies
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, annotated listing of the most important and significant sources on social sciences and humanities subjects.
Using UW Libraries Search
- In Advanced Search, choose "subject" from the drop-down menu, and enter the term "bibliography". Add your topic as a keyword (or subject) in the next field.