Skip to main content
Research Guides

About This Guide

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the Spanish and Portuguese Studies collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).  For questions or more information, please contact the Spanish & Portuguese Studies Librarian.

 

UW Libraries: Collection Goals

The UW Libraries is committed to providing convenient and timely access to collections and information resources that are outstanding with respect to their quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of the University of Washington.

The Spanish & Portuguese Studies collections support the research and teaching missions of the Spanish and Portuguese Studies department, as well as students and researchers in other UW programs doing related work.

Subject Definition

Spanish and Portuguese language and literature as a discipline covers the study of languages and literatures including theory and criticism, and teaching preparation.  Spanish and Portuguese Studies includes cultural studies more broadly, including art history, history, politics, sociology, and more.

Strengths of the collections reflect both the past and current curricular and research emphases of faculty.

Cinema Studies primarily purchases film and film criticism. Materials about Latinx communities in the United States are collected by the American Ethnic Studies Librarian.  Music, art, architecture, history, and science-related materials are primarily covered by those selectors.  The Latin American & Caribbean Studies collection focuses largely on the social sciences.

Subject Classification

Library of Congress classification (LC):

Major areas are:

  • DP1-402. History of Spain
  • DP501-900. History of Portugal
  • F1201-3799. History: Latin America and the Caribbean
  • PC4001-4977. Spanish language
  • PC5001-5498. Portuguese language
  • PQ6001-8929. Spanish literature
  • PQ9000-9999. Portuguese literature
     

Areas shared with other languages:

  • JL, JN. Political Science.
  • M. Music
  • N. Fine Arts
  • PI-4600. Philology and linguistics
  • PH. Basque language and literature
  • PM. Mixed languages incorporating some element of Spanish and Portuguese
  • PN. General and comparative literature, cinema, and comics/graphic novels
  • Z. Subject and author bibliographies