Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Collections by Subject
Access & Use Limits
EBL E-Books & Walk-In Users
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
E-Book Collections: Collections A-Z
Information on finding and using e-books at the UW Libraries
ABC-Clio eBook Collection
Introductory books covering history, popular culture and more
Textbooks, images and illustrations, self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.
Select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search pharmacy references.
Textbooks, multimedia, images, drug information, quick answers sources.
ACLS Humanities E-books
Major academic books in fields ranging from area studies to sociology
ASM Handbooks on metal engineering
Biodiversity Heritage Library
More than 40,000 mostly 19th c. natural history books and journals
Engineering & computer science related books
Medical & nursing books
California Scholarship Online
Access to hundreds of University of California Press monographs.
Cambridge Histories Online
Renown book series on history, language, literature and more
Selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts & CME materials
Access to thousands of e-books in the STEM disciplines.
Mental health textbooks, manuals and handbooks.
Early American Imprints, 1639-1800
Early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials. Covers materials printed through the early 1900s.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Books published in England between the years 1470 and 1700
EBSCOhost ebook collection
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers
eDuke books scholarly collection
Books on all subjects published by Duke University Press
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Books published in England between 1701 and 1800
Books in law, economics, and social and political sciences, including reference works and handbooks.
ENGnetBASE Engineering Handbooks Online
Hundreds of handbooks and other engineering works
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia and other introductory books on all subjects
Small collection of recent history-related books
Major collection of pre-1924 books and journals plus searching capability of copyright works
Over 400 technical engineering books published by IEEE
Engineering and science books including ASM Handbooks
KSI e-Book / 한국학술정보
Korean books on all subjects from KSI
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS)
Computer Science books and conference proceedings published by Springer; 1997-2011
350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose plus other literature-related material
Brain science books plus related journals & encyclopedias
Small collection of primarily science books published by Taylor & Francis
National Academies Press
More than 4000 freely downloadable books on science, engineering, and health policy
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible European academic books, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Books and other publications by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
This link opens in a new window
Collection of Pimsleur audio language books; requires registration & download
Oxford Art Online
Art reference works, including Grove Art Online, biographies, and encyclopedias.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Handbooks in the fields of business, philosophy, political science & religion
Oxford Reference Online
Collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries covering all subjects
Oxford Scholarship Online
Access to thousands of works from Oxford University Press.
Philosophical works from Aristotle to Wittgenstein.
Writings of early Church fathers in Latin
Project Muse Books
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers
ProQuest Ebook Central
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers.
R2 Digital Library
Medicine, nursing & allied health books
Reports on international security and public policy issues
Safari Books Online
Computer manuals published by O'Reilly.
Sage Reference Online
Encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects.
Science Direct eBooks
Full-text scientific, technical and health books
Scripta Sinica (Academia Sinica) 中央研究院漢籍電子文獻資料庫
Collection of more than 500 Chinese classics
Si bu cong kan / 四部叢刊
504 Chinese books published from 1919-1936
Nearly 400 books published by Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
Mathematics & statistics books published by Springer
Database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences.
Medical and drug texts, including Stedman's medical dictionary.
SuperStar Chinamaxx Digital Library Collection 超星中文电子书集献
Massive collection of Chinese books, mostly 1949 to present. See
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Engineering & computer science works
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Over 65,000 e-books in the humanities, social sciences, law and built environment, primarily under the Routledge imprint.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Greek texts from Homer to the fall of the Byzantines
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Free access to approximately 500 out of 2000 books published by the University of California Press covering all topics
Wiley Online Library
Over 20,000 online books; especially strong in the STEM disciplines.
World Bank e-Library
Books and other publications from the World Bank. Includes literature on development, agriculture, health, and more.
Collections by Subject >>
Sep 29, 2017 12:15 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.