Skip to main content

Research Guides

Creating and Organizing Citations with Mendeley

For more complete explanations of how to create citations and organize your library, click on the following links:

Import Citations From Databases and Catalogs: Using the "Web Importer", Mendeley provides the ability to save references from many library catalogs and databases with a link saved in your browser's Bookmarks toolbar or folder. Mendeley also provides a list of currently supported databases and catalogs.

Create Citations From Other Webpages: Although Mendeley cannot automatically capture citation info from all web pages, you can still add them to your library. Once you have added the "Import to Mendeley" link to your browser's Bookmarks toolbar or folder, click the "Import to Mendeley" Bookmark to import the page to your Mendeley Library.

Create Citations From Your Existing Saved Documents: You can save your existing documents in a Mendeley library collection either by cliking the green plus sign icon or by dragging and dropping into you Mendeley Desktop Library.

Organize Your Library: Mendeley helps you organize the information in your library by giving you the ability to create collections, add descriptive tags to your items and link related items that are in the same or different collections.

Attach Files / Add Notes and Tags: Mendeley allows you to attach files or add notes to items in the desktop version of your Library. Both the desktop and web versions of Mendeley allow you to add personal tags to your Library items.

Mendeley Help Guide

Look for the guide, "Getting Started with Mendeley" in the "Help" menu of the Mendeley Desktop Version.