Skip to main content

Research Guides

Graduate Funding Information Service: Funding Databases

Online guide and resources for graduate students looking for funding opportunities.

Tips for Searching Funding Databases

Funding databases are great central resources for searching based on criteria such as discipline, type of award, user-generated keywords, and eligibility criteria.

Here are some tips for making your search a success:

Start general. Begin with simple search that combines a very general keyword or category (e.g. anthropology, or social science) with the specific eligibility criteria that pertain to you (e.g. funding opportunities for international graduate students in the form of fellowships or research grants). It's best to get a sense of the broad funding landscape before conducting too specific of a search.

Consider your keywords. Brainstorm a list of keywords in three areas: your degree or program, your research interests, and your personal characteristics as an applicant. Search these domains separately or in conjunction with one another.

Look at "closed opportunities" and deadlines that have passed. Depending on when in the year you are doing your funding search, organizations may not have announced their upcoming application season deadlines. For the most complete sense of what opportunities are out there for you, look at the deadlines from the previous year as well as any deadlines marked "ongoing."

Follow up! Always visit the funding source's website for the most accurate information about a particular funding opportunity. Follow leads to see what other funding they offer that may not appear in the database.

Automate your process. Grant Forward allows you to save searches and set up alerts. If you take advantage of these features, you'll be notified automatically when a new opportunity that matches your interests is added to the database.

Subscription Databases

Subscription databases collect many different types of funding available to a wide variety of individuals and organizations, from small scholarships for students to large grants for non-profit and community organizations.

(Available to currently enrolled UW students, faculty, and staff with a valid UW NetID and password.)

Databases from Academic Institutions

Several universities maintain databases of external academic fellowships, scholarships, and grants. These tools are publicly available, so no institutional affiliation is needed to use them. These databases are a great way to focus only on funding for graduate students, and in many databases you are able to filter by citizenship status, academic discipline, and academic level (e.g. master's, doctoral, dissertation-specific, post-doc).