American Indian and Indigenous Studies: Welcome

Washington Tribal Websites

This image links to a page on the Washington Tribes website where each federally recognized tribal name is a link. When you hover over a tribal name, the tribe's website is linked at the bottom of the pop-up.

Starting Points

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Covers all aspects of North America's aboriginal culture, history and life. Includes books, journals and government documents. Includes some links to full-text.
Diversity Collection
Ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality, from 1970-current. Encompasses Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and GenderWatch.

UW Libraries Search

Advanced Search | FAQ

Some keywords that might help in UW Libraries Search

Indians of North America - Washington State - Puget Sound Region
Indians of North America - Washington State - Treaties
Tulalip Indians
Muckleshoot Indians

Sample books

A Guide to the Indian Tribes of the Pacific Northwest by Robert H. Ruby; John A. Brown; Cary C. Collins
This guide offers detailed descriptions, in alphabetical order, of 150 Pacific Northwest tribes. Each entry provides information on the history, location, demographics, and cultural traditions of the particular tribe.
A Drum in One Hand, a Sockeye in the Other: Stories of Indigenous Food Sovereignty from the Northwest Coast by Charlotte Coté
As Indigenous peoples continue to face food insecurity due to ongoing inequality, environmental degradation, and the Westernization of traditional diets, Coté foregrounds healing and cultural sustenance via everyday enactments of food sovereignty: berry picking, salmon fishing, and building a community garden on reclaimed residential school grounds.
Haboo by Vi Hilbert (translator); Jill La Pointe (foreword)
Stories and legends of the Lushootseed-speaking people of Puget Sound represent an important part of the oral tradition by which one generation hands down beliefs, values, and customs to another. Vi Hilbert grew up when many of the old social patterns survived and everyone spoke the ancestral language. Hilbert's collection of thirty-three stories features tales mostly set in the Myth Age, before the world transformed; animals, plants, trees, and even rocks had human attributes. Prominent characters like Wolf, Salmon, and Changer and tricksters like Mink, Raven, and Coyote populate these stories.
Native Seattle by Coll Thrush
Native Seattle focuses on the experiences of local indigenous communities on whose land Seattle grew, accounts of Native migrants to the city and the development of a multi-tribal urban community, as well as the role Native Americans have played in the narrative of Seattle.