BWRIT 135: Research Writing (Collins): Boolean Operators

Most databases don't understand the natural language we speak and need help understanding what we're looking to find. For this, they require a special set of conventions, including: Logical or Boolean operators, wildcard and truncation symbols, and nesting. Databases and internet search engines apply these rules differently, so check the HELP files in the database you are using to find out more.

Boolean Logic consists of three logical operators (connectors): AND, OR and NOT

Boolean Operator: AND Finds sources containing two or more ideas The database will only retrieve items containing both words AND narrows your search You can use AND many times in one search Example: electronic AND voting	Boolean AND
Boolean Operator: OR Use OR when searching for synonyms OR tells the database that the words can be used interchangeably, so it will retrieve items containing either word OR broadens your search to include synonyms and related words You can use OR many times in one search Example: electronic OR internet OR web	Boolean OR
Nesting search terms using: parenthesis ( ) Make a complex search using both AND and OR by placing parentheses around synonyms so you don't have to repeat searches Nesting saves you time by allowing you to search multiple synonyms at once Example: (electronic OR internet OR web) AND (vote OR voting) - this cuts down on having to do multiple searches for the combinations of keywords
Boolean Operator: NOT Use NOT when you wish to exclude records from your search results Example: pets NOT dogs Be careful when using NOT! The term you want may be present in an important way in results that also contain the word you wish to avoid	Boolean NOT

1. Conceptually, with keywords 
   Example: Women AND STEM --> women AND mathematics

2. Mathematically, with Boolean logic
   Example: women AND mathematics --> AND … anything else, e.g.,
   women AND mathematics AND (industry OR employment OR jobs)

3. Database/interface-assisted, with limiters
   Example: Women AND mathematics --> limited to peer reviewed journals, published 2000 or later, geographically limited to the United States

Truncation: *

• The * is a common symbol used to replace any number of letters at the ends of words
• Helps find singulars, plurals, and variant endings of words
• Check each database's help pages to see which truncation symbol is used in that particular database
• Example: vot* finds vote, votes, voter, voting, etc.
• Example: communit* finds community, communities 

Limits: 
Most databases let you limit search results. Some limits include:

• Language  
• Publication type, 
• Date of Publication, etc.

Phrases: " "

• Enclose phrases in quotation marks when searching the Web or most databases
• Phrase searching in individual databases may vary. Check the help pages in each database for additional information.
• Example: "voter registration" 
• Example: "electoral college"