Skip to Main Content

Reserve a Study Room

Ethnic and Multicultural Studies: Find Background Information

Reference Sources

These sources offer great background information on and definitions of ethnic studies terms. You can also search for specific information on ethnic groups, events or cultures.

Encyclopedia of American Studies
"Published by Johns Hopkins University Press for the American Studies Association (ASA), the Encyclopedia of American Studies covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement."

Gale Ebooks
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas
Oxford Bibliographies
Scholarly, annotated listing of the most important and significant sources on social sciences and humanities subjects.
Oxford Reference Online
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

Selected Reference Titles

Race in American Television: Voices and Visions That Shaped a Nation by David J. Leonard (Editor); Stephanie Troutman Robbins (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Race and Ethnicity in America: from Pre-Contact to the Present by Russell M. Lawson (Editor); Benjamin A. Lawson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Imperialism and Expansionism in American History: a Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document Collection by Chris J. Magoc (Editor); David Bernstein (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
Multicultural America by Carlos E. Cortes (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014

Selected Reference Titles

African American Culture: an Encyclopedia of People, Traditions, and Customs by Omari L. Dyson (Editor); Judson L. Jeffries (Editor); Kevin L. Brooks (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Asian Americans: an Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History by Xiaojian Zhao (Editor); Edward J. W. Park (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Native-American History by Peter C. Mancall (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2025 2:56 PM
URL: https://guides.lib.uw.edu/bothell/ethnicstudies
Print Page