Graduate Students : Research and Publishing

Start Your Research

Research Guides by Subject
Guides to help you get started on your research in a subject area.
Course Guides
Class research guides created by librarians working with specific courses.
Databases A-Z
A selection of 300+ databases to find citations, full text articles, and other materials. Use the research guides by subject for databases in each discipline.
E-Journals
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Data & Data Visualization
This guide provides links to useful physical and virtual resources for finding, analyzing, visualizing and managing data.
Citation Management Tools
Manage your citations using your preferred citation tool
Research Alerts
Set up email notifications or RSS feeds for new publications in your discipline

Scholarly Communication & Open Access Publishing
Learn about your author rights, open access, and the economics behind journal publishing.
Copyright Resource Guide
Information about copyright basics, research copyright, obtaining permission to use copyrighted works, and more
ResearchWorks
The UW Libraries institutional repository. Publish and archive your research while maintaining your copyright.
Directory of Open Access Journals
A collection of quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Journal Citation Reports
Citation data and impact factor for science/technology and social science journals.

Open Scholarship Commons (Suzzallo Library, UW Seattle)
Connect with UW Libraries and campus experts to do work across disciplinary boundaries: Data Visualization, GIS, Media Production, Online Publishing, Data Management, and Text Mining.
UW Libraries Research Commons (Allen Library, UW Seattle)
Programming, workshops, and events offering opportunities to learn more about disseminating your research through various means and to different audiences.