HIST&148: United States History III - Spiegler: 20th Century

General background information

The sources in this box can be used to help you explore a topic and get general background information. Many articles will have bibliographies you can use to find additional sources. See the boxes below for UW Libraries Search, article databases and primary source collections.

Gale Ebooks
Large collection of online encyclopedias, including many "Daily Life" series books linked below.

Oxford reference online
Click here to see a Timeline of United States history from this database. (There's a box near the top of the timeline that allows you to enter a date to jump down to.)

Daily Life through History
Browse by time period or region to find out more about clothes, food, social habits, etc. throughout history.

UW Libraries Search

Advanced Search | FAQ

Article databases for history

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on American and Canadian history
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.

Access Newspapers via the Campus Library

Seattle Times via Access World News
View Seattle Times articles from 1895 to present via the Campus Library database Access World News. Need help navigating the search interface? Click here!
New York Times Direct Access (nytimes.com)
Click this link to set up your free account for the New York Times. Once you set up your account, you can go directly to nytimes.com or log-in using the app to read their articles and avoid encountering paywalls. Follow the steps in the section titled "New Subscribers to NYT: Activate your UW NYTimes.com account."
The Guardian
US site for the British global news source.
Community Media: Local Print News
Campus Library research guide with more links to local news sources.
Looking for more news access? Click here!

Websites with Primary Sources

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
First hand accounts, photographs and other resources related to the incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II.
Digital Public Library of America
"Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."
Pacific Northwest Labor and Civil Rights Projects
Search this UW resource on the history of labor and civil rights movements in the Northwest. Includes interviews, photographs, newspaper articles, and historical essays.
The Institute of Museum and Library Services' Digital Collections and Content
The Institute of Museum and Library Services' Digital Collections and Content (DCC) "brings together cultural heritage collections and exhibits from libraries, museums, and archives from across the country."
Washington Prison History Project
An archive containing artifacts, commentaries, interviews, scholarship and multimedia games that explore the histories and activism around mass incarceration and abolition in Washington state.
The American Presidency Project: State of the Union Addresses and Messages
Full text of presidential State of the Union Addresses and Messages from 1790 to present.

More Primary Source Collections

Primary Sources from the 20th Century - This is part of the History Guide from UW Libraries in Seattle, which links out to digital collections on many subjects in 20th century history.

Labor Archives of Washington - This is the digital resources guide for the Labor Archives of Washington, housed down at the UW Seattle campus. It contains links to many collections with primary resources related to labor history in Washington State.

UW Libraries Digital Collections - This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the UW Libraries and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries. The collections emphasize rare and unique materials.