Scholarly Publishing and Open Access: UW Libraries Investments in Open Access

Repository support

ResearchWorks is the University of Washington open access institutional repository, hosted by the UW Libraries.  UW faculty and student publications can be archived and shared with the world at no charge.

Dryad Data Repository: Dryad is a community-led, nonprofit membership organization providing data curation services and a platform to make research data discoverable, reusable, and citable. Effective January 1, 2023 the institutional membership covers 100% of the deposit costs for current UW-affiliated researchers wishing to deposit and share their research data in Dryad.

• The platform accepts all research data and most types of files can be submitted, but the service is intended for complete, re-usable, open research datasets.
• Dryad is one of the Generalist Repositories recommended by the National Institutes of Health for funded data sets

ArXiv: UW Libraries has been a supporter of the Sustainability Initiative since 2010.

PubMed Central (PMC): PMC is the designated public repository for peer-reviewed papers arising from NIH-funded research.  UW Libraries provides a guide to understanding and complying with the NIH Public Access Policy.

Support for UW authors who publish openly

The UW Libraries is not able to provide a central fund for authors' article-processing charges at this time. The Library's Head of Digital Scholarship, Denise Hattwig, is available to help you review your publisher contract and propose an author addendum, or to explore other options for sharing your work OA.

PLOS Journals: Effective February 1, 2023 UW has expanded its Read and Publish agreement with PLOS to provide APC-free publishing for UW corresponding authors publishing in all PLOS journals. Under the terms of the expanded agreement:

• 100% of the Article Processing Charge (APC) is covered for eligible UW corresponding authors.
• Articles are published under a Creative Commons CC-BY 4.0 License

Company of Biologists: The University of Washington has entered into a three-year Read and Publish agreement with the Company of Biologists, effective January 1, 2023.  The transformative agreement provides current UW-affiliated users access to the entire COB archive and covers 100% of the costs for UW corresponding authors publishing in its five journals - Development, Journal of Cell Science, Journal of Experimental Biology, Disease Models & Mechanisms, and Biology Open.  Under the terms of the Read and Publish agreement:

• Authors retain their copyright and are required to assign an exclusive license to COB
• Articles are published under a Creative Commons CC-BY 4.0 License
• All articles published via Read & Publish will automatically be deposited in PubMed Central.

ACM Open (Association for Computing Machinery): Beginning January 2022 the University of Washington (UW) entered into a transformative open access agreement with ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery. This agreement allows UW corresponding authors to make all of their research articles in the ACM Digital Library open access immediately at no cost to the author.

• Under the default workflow process, authors will retain copyright and may select a Creative Commons license for sharing and reuse of the work.
• Corresponding UW authors submitting research articles for publication should be sure to use their “uw.edu” email address in ACM’s online forms to ensure their article/s will be identified as eligible for the ACM Open program.

Cambridge University Press Gold and Hybrid Journals: The University of Washington and its PNW partners in the Orbis Cascade Alliance have entered into a transformative “read and publish” agreement with Cambridge University Press to promote open access publishing.  The agreement is effective January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2023.

• The agreement provides a complete waiver on all Article Processing Charges (APCs) for UW corresponding authors publishing in a Cambridge journal with an open access publishing option.
• UW-affiliated corresponding authors must indicate their UW institutional affiliation at the time of submission. We highly recommend that authors also use their UW email address to help confirm their UW affiliation.
• UW authors interested in publishing in Cambridge journals can find a useful overview of the agreement and how it works in the Read and Publish agreement with the Orbis Cascade Alliance.

De Gruyter Hybrid Journals: UW has signed a read and publish agreement with De Gruyter Publishing, effective January 1, 2023.  The new transformational agreement (1) provides UW users access to the De Gruyter Complete eJournal Collection and (2)  covers 100% of the article processing charges (APCs) for UW corresponding authors publishing in De Gruyter’s “hybrid” journals (subscription journals that provide authors the option to pay to publish their articles open access).  The waiver does not apply to De Gruyter’s Gold open access journals. Articles are published under a Creative Commons CC-BY license.

Springer science, medicine and technology open access journals:

• BMC (BioMed Central): UW Libraries' membership in BMC provides UW authors a 15% discount on article-processing charges.
• SpringerOpen: UW Libraries' membership in SpringerOpen provides UW authors a 15% discount on article-processing charges for Springer's 100% Open Access journals.

MDPI: UW Libraries' membership in MDPI provides UW authors a 10% discount on article-processing charges.

SCOAP³ (Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics): UW Libraries' support for SCOAP3 ensures that authors pay no fees to publish in open access SCOAP3 journals, which include 10 key journals in particle physics.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. UW Libraries is a full member of the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy International Association, which helps fund open access to the Encyclopedia.

Knowledge Unlatched: UW Libraries and over 380 other libraries have joined together to supports Knowledge Unlatched, an organization that works with its members to crowdfund the publication of scholarly open access scholarly monographs and journals.

Open Access Journal Hosting: UW Libraries offers journal hosting services free of charge.  Information is available for those interested in starting a new journal or migrating an existing journal to a new publishing platform and/or model.

UW Bothell Library is available to help faculty interested in open access publishing.

Please contact Denise Hattwig, Head of Digital Scholarship, with questions (dhattwig@uw.edu)