Near East: Images

Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google..

Cultural production from diverse time periods and world cultures, and major monuments of world art and architectural history.

Photo archive of the American Center of Oriental Research in Jordan.

Akkasah, the Center for Photography at New York University Abu Dhabi, is home to an archive of the photographic heritage of the Middle East and North Africa. Over 33,000 images

A wide variety of digital information primarily on Egypt. It includes photographs, textual materials, oral histories, watercolors and much more.

Timbuktu, Mali, is the legendary city founded as a commercial center in West Africa nine hundred years ago. Dating from the 16th to the 18th centuries, the ancient manuscripts presented in this exhibition cover every aspect of human endeavor and are indicative of the high level of civilization attained by West Africans during the Middle Ages.

Visual resources held at Harvard. Includes Middle Eastern material.

Includes the Lenkin Collection of Photography, which consists of over 5,000 early photographs of the Holy Land, dating from 1850-1937 and the Paola and Bertrand Lazard Holy Land Print collections.

Images of the Icons of the Monastery of Saint Catherine in the Sinai.

Part of the NYPL Digital Library. Several thousand prints and photographs contained in works from the 17th century to the beginning of the 20th century.

The Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division (P&P) has numerous varied and unique collections of Middle East images. This visual material includes photographic prints, negatives, albums, book illustrations, posters, architectural drawings, and cartoons. The majority of images were created between 1840 and 1970, although some earlier and later materials are also available.

The images portray a broad geographic area from Algiers in North Africa to Samarqand in present-day Uzbekistan. The collections are particularly strong in coverage of Turkey, Israel, the West Bank (the Palestinian territories), Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, Egypt, and Central Asia. Many images of Iran, Iraq, and North Africa, including Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya, can be found along with some images of Saudi Arabia and the Persian Gulf states such as Kuwait and Bahrain.

Primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, ephemera, and more.

A massive collection of historic photographs from around the world, including many on the Middle East. Saved to pinterest.

Images of the Middle East owned by the Royal Geographic Society or taken by photographers sponsored by the Society.

Images are of Egypt and Israel, from 3000 BCE to modern times.

Broad and representative collection of images illustrating the geography, folkways, lifestyles and architecture of the vast regions (or oblasts) of the Russian Federation and other newly independent states of the former Soviet Union. Some coverage of Central Asia

Nearly 10,000 images of architecture and city views from around the world.

Images of carpet weaving, village life and monuments in Turkey, mostly in the 1970s plus some from Iran.

A collection of around 3000 slides on Islamic art around the world.

The Arca Artium catalogue contains records for over 6700 art objects, including some from the Middle East and manuscript pages in Middle Eastern languages.

Photographs mostly of Palestine, 1881 into the 1970s.

Princeton University Library’s Arabic Movie Posters and Lobby Cards Collection