Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- English
- Articles & Journals
English: Articles & Journals
This guide recommends resources for research in English language studies, British and American literature, and other literatures written in English.
Additional Resources
These databases cover many subjects so are great for finding information across disciplines, like the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. They do not always focus on literature, so they may not be the best for finding literary criticism.
If you use Google Scholar, make sure to connect it to the UW Libraries.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 12,500 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 8,500 journals. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975-present. Covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities, with cited references but not abstracts. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is great for finding articles as well as the scholarly conversations associated with articles.
MLA International Bibliography: Tutorials
View brief tutorials for tips on effective searching and details on content included.
- What is the MLA International Bibliography?Brief tutorial on the MLA IB.
- Keyword Vs. Subject Search in MLABrief tutorial on searching the MLA IB.
Finding Literary Journals
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A master list that covers over 5,800 journals that publish articles on language, literature, folklore, or pedagogy. But if you want to find articles, make sure to use the MLA International Bibliography database on the homepage of this guide.
- Scholarly Journals Vs. Popular MagazinesWhat's the difference between a scholarly journal and a popular magazine? Find out how to identify one from the other.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA directory of peer-reviewed, online journals that do not charge readers or their institutions for access to content.
E-Journal Packages
Project Muse & JSTOR contain many humanities journals and books. Both can be a good place to identify articles/chapters on interdisciplinary topics.
- Project MUSE
- This link opens in a new window
Browse or search the full text of current volumes of selected humanities journals. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Browse or search the full text of older issues of selected humanities journals.