Chemistry-Chemical Information: Primary Reference Sources

Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
- This link opens in a new window
Starting points for chemical-related research.

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chemistry dictionaries and handbooks.
ENGnetBASE Engineering Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From CRC Press

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a growing, open source chemical database produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry
ACS Reagent Chemicals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbook of specifications and procedures for reagents
International Critical Tables
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (1st Electronic Edition)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel Critical Tables
- This link opens in a new window
2nd edition
Knovel Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
A unique way to search many handbooks and other science and engineering resources.
Organic Syntheses
- This link opens in a new window
Perry's Chemical Engineers' handbook 8th. ed.
- This link opens in a new window
Polymers: A Properties Database
- This link opens in a new window
PubChem
PubChem is an in depth and growing open source of chemical information produced by the National Library of Medicine
Smithsonian Critical Tables
9th Edition
Ullmann's Enclyclopedia of Chemical Industry
- This link opens in a new window
Organic Syntheses
Note: the free Chemdraw®plugin, version 6.0.3 preferred, is required to use.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is an intelligent interface which helps users to easily search the extensive Chemical Abstracts Databases. Searches can be done by subject phrases, author names and chemical identification such as structure/substructure, reactions, molecular formulae and more.