Chemistry-Chemical Information: Primary Reference Sources

Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

Starting points for chemical-related research.

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chemistry dictionaries and handbooks.
ENGnetBASE Engineering Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From CRC Press

International Critical Tables
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (1st Electronic Edition)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel Critical Tables
- This link opens in a new window
2nd edition
Knovel Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
A unique way to search many handbooks and other science and engineering resources.
Organic Syntheses
Note: the free Chemdraw®plugin, version 6.0.3 preferred, is required to use.
Polymers: A Properties Database
- This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Critical Tables
- This link opens in a new window
9th edition
Ullmann's Enclyclopedia of Chemical Industry
- This link opens in a new window

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is an intelligent interface which helps users to easily search the extensive Chemical Abstracts Databases. Searches can be done by subject phrases, author names and chemical identification such as structure/substructure, reactions, molecular formulae and more.

Cambridge Structural Database
This resource is available only on Internet Explorer.
Note: If you access CSD from a non-Libraries computer, you will be prompted to allow ActiveX controls and add a Libraries site to the IE "trusted sites" list.

ACS Style Quick Guide
Updated quick guide to proper ACS style requirements
CASSI
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index provides help with journal abbreviations, finding english equivalent journals and much more