Research Guides
Chemistry-Chemical Information: Chemical Pricing
Chemical Producers
Finding Chemical Prices is a challenge. If you are looking to actually buy a chemical and need a price, you really need to go through the producer.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
SciFinder provides access to chemical literature, chemical property information and reactions and much more
- Chem Sources-USA(TP12 C442). A good print source.
- 2017 Elements of the Business of ChemistryChemical industry highlights and data provided by the American Chemistry Council
- eMoleculesMostly organics and pharmaceutical. Free version does include some pricing
- Inventory Update Reporting (IUR) US EPA
- This link opens in a new window
No pricing information but does provide production information and is searchable by chemical or company. - ProcurementIQ
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes guides on how to buy equipment, some chemicals and more. Provides overview of item in question, benchmark pricing and more
Finding Bulk Pricing
It is possible but very difficult to find current bulk pricing. Foster Business Library's Home page provides quick links to some tools which can be useful, including EBSCO Business Source Complete (below). Try searching by the chemical name and the keyword `prices'. Keep in mind that these are business databases and not chemical databases. Be sure to try chemical synonyms if you don't succeed on the first search and be careful with initialisms and abbreviations. The librarians at Foster can be of assistance in using this database and may be able to recommend further sources.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines.
Finding Historical Prices
There are many resources for finding historical prices of many chemicals. Encyclopedias like Kirk-Othmer and many journals provide excellent coverage.
- Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
- This link opens in a new window
- University of Texas-Austin PathfinderExcellent chemistry pathfinder provides more info
Sample of Chemical Suppliers on the Web
- ICIS Chemical Prices for Students
- This link opens in a new window
- ChemExpo, a virtual Trade show
- This link opens in a new window
- ACS Chemical Industries Buyers' Guide
- This link opens in a new window
Access to chemical industry suppliers