Skip to Main Content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Learn how to choose the best and most reliable information that meets your research needs.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; tools for storing and organizing sources.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Undergraduate Researcher Tutorial
Self-paced online tutorial that introduces students to research skills and UW Libraries resources and services.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
We are committed to providing equal access to library collections, services, and facilities for all library users.
Interlibrary Loan & Scanning Services
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Open Scholarship Commons
One-stop shop for knowledge creation and dissemination services.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info and tools for scholarly publishing and open-access publishing alternatives.
Talk to a librarian with expertise in your subject area for help with your research.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
News, views and impact stories from the UW Libraries.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Built Environments Library
Foster Business Library
Friday Harbor Library
Government Publications, Maps, Microforms & Newspapers
Health Sciences Library
Mathematics Research Library
Odegaard Undergraduate Library
Suzzallo and Allen Libraries
Tateuchi East Asia Library
UW Bothell/Cascadia Library
UW Tacoma Library
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Make an appointment and get specialized help from a librarian.
ways to contact us
Find Articles & Journals
Find Web Resources
Disaster Preparedness & Response
Environment, Mold & Pest Control
Outreach and Education
How Do I Preserve...
Books and Paper
Microfilm and Microfiche
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Find Web Resources
Preservation: Find Web Resources
Introductory Web Resources
AIC Caring for your Treasures
Simple, useful preservation guides for a variety of objects and materials.
British Library Conservation Preservation Guides
Provide guidance on topics such as basic preservation techniques and environmental management. They also cover caring for books, photographs and bookbindings.
Library of Congress Collections Care
Basic information on care, handling, and storage of collections from the Library of Congress.
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
A self-guided introduction to preservation basics for paper and media collections from the Northeast Document Conservation Center.
ALCTS Preservation Webinars
The ALA creates continuing education webinars on a wide variety of library topics, including preservation.
Connecting to Collections Online
Collection care resources as well as recordings of previous webinars, courses, and discussions.
More Comprehensive Web Resources
AIC Conservation Wiki
Resources created by the various American Institute for Conservation Specialty Groups and Committees. Some are more current and complete than others.
Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)
The Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) is a standard reference of over 250,000 terms for art, architecture, and conservation.
CAMEO: Conservation & Art Materials Encyclopedia Online
A database of technical information on the terms, materials, and techniques used in the fields of art conservation and historic preservation.
CCAHA Preservation Resources
Resources and technical bulletins on preventive, paper, book, and photograph preservation from the Conservation Center for Art & Historic Artifacts.
Practical advice about issues and questions related to the care, handling, and storage of cultural objects from the Canadian Conservation Institute.
Conservation Online (COOL)
A list of mostly pre-2009 web resources related to conservation and preservation.
Getty Conservation Institute Publications & Resources
A variety of publications and other resources for conservation professionals.
National Park Service Conserve-O-Grams
Short info sheets from the NPS on a wide variety of conservation and preservation subjects.
NEDCC Preservation Leaflets
Leaflets on library and archives preservation topics from the Northeast Document Conservation Center.
Preservation Self-Assessment Program
Overview, format identification, and bibliographies on paper documents, books, photographic materials, and audiovisual media from University of Illinois.
Six-volume publication about caring for a wide range of collection materials, developed by Artlab and Australian conservators for the Heritage Collections Council.
Collections Care >>
May 4, 2023 3:24 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.