Music: Websites

A general research guide about music for students at UW Bothell and Cascadia College.

Web Resources - General

AllMusic.com
Covers all genres and styles of music - including country, jazz, rap, and classical. Includes news and reviews of new music releases.
Voice of the Shuttle - Music
A collection of links to web resources, including resources for the study of music history from the 17th-20th centuries. Also includes a collection of links to music journals and zines.
MusicWeb International
Classical Music CD and concert reviews
New Music USA Online Library
"The New Music USA Online Library is a vast and comprehensive digital database that contains over 57,000 works by more than 6,000 composers, and includes over 14,000 media samples (recordings and scores)."
NPR Music
Users can listen to live concerts and studio sessions on demand. Site includes interviews, music reviews and news.
Radio Locator
"the most comprehensive radio station search engine on the internet." Includes links to over 10,000 radio station web pages and over 2500 audio streams from radio stations in the U.S. and around the world.
SongFacts.com
Search for songs by topic (for example, Hurricane Katrina, songs about baseball), inspiration (for example, inspired by Hans Christian Anderson), songs used in (for example, used on The Simpsons), and more.
IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project)
Public domain scores and recordings. Search by composer, time period, or instrumentation.

World Music

American Popular Music

Classical

Jazz

HipHop

Crocodile Cafe Collection
The Crocodile Café Collection contains 2,840 hours of live music recordings. Recorded at the Café between May 2002 and December 2007 by audio engineer Jim Anderson, these recordings document performances by dozens of artists, both notable and obscure. The collection is available on two listening stations at the Libraries Media Center, which is located on the mezzanine level (between the 1st and 2nd floors) of Odegaard Undergraduate Library.
Museum of Pop Culture (formerly the Experience Music Project)
Seattle Jazz Scene
Seattle Opera
Seattle Symphony Orchestra
The Stranger
Music listings and news.