Music: Music Recordings & Streaming Audio

A general research guide about music for students at UW Bothell and Cascadia College.

Streaming audio resources

Naxos Music Library World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of world music, including Smithsonian Folkways and other labels. Up to 5 users may access it at a time.
American Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Audio tracks of songs illustrating American history, including political campaigns, Civil Rights, and war protests. (Music Online)
Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio recordings from independent classical music labels. (Music Online)
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music recordings, including streaming audio, liner notes and essays covering a wide range of genres and performers. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio of the entire Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues, plus other licensed independent labels.

Internet Archive's Live Music Library
Preserves and archives live concerts, which are freely available in downloadable format. All music in the collection is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly non-commercial.
Jazz Music Library
- This link opens in a new window
Jazz Music Library is a continuously growing, online collection that currently includes more than 18,000 audio tracks featuring more than 3,800 artists in streaming audio.
Library of Congress American Memory Project Online Recordings Collection
Includes recordings from a number of collections, including Civil War Era Band Music, Folk Music from across the United States, Omaha Indian Music.

Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of traditional, folk and world music.

Classical Performance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Video resource for classical music: performances, including 200 full operas and 75 dance titles, masterclasses, documentaries, scores, and interviews. (Music Online)
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of classical music performances including concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, and educational films.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of more than 500 Metropolitan Opera performances.

Naxos Video Library
- This link opens in a new window
A performing arts video library with over 300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others and is continuously updated.

Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 250+ operatic performances. (Music Online)