Data & Data Visualization: Find Data

Chat with a UW Librarian

Find Public Opinion Polls

Search these databases, OR add keywords to your searches such as "poll" or "public opinion poll", etc.

Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Public opinion data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations.

Pew Research Data
Public opinion data going as far back as 1997.

Business Data

MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on a wide variety of topics.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to governmental and private statistical data.

Business Data Guide
Find more business data resources on the business data guide

Election Data

Federal Election Commission
Data on campaign finance spending.
Census Data - Voting and Registration
Census data on voters, broken down by race, age and income level etc.
TV News Archive
Complies data on keyword mentions from TV news shows. You can search for mention of cadidate names and see the number of mention, sponsors, network etc.
The Center for Information and Research on Civic Learning and Engagement
Data and research on political engagement of young Americans.
Undocumented Immigrant Population
Undocumented Immigrant population estimates by state.

United States Statistics & Data

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Key statistics about crime, law enforcement, and the justice system.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
A comprehensive source for statistics related to US labor and employment.
Data.Census.Gov
Interface for data from U.S. Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census, and more. Tables and maps for U.S states, counties, cities, towns, by race, ethnic, ancestry, or tribal groups.
Data.gov
"Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets."

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social-science data and statistics from a variety of sources.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets.

National Center for Education Statistics
Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the United States
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Create maps and tables of demographic, business, and marketing variables. (Formerly known as SimplyMap.)

Social explorer
Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Lets users create maps and reports on demography and social change.
USA.gov
Search engine that searches US government agency sites.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social, political, and economic statistics of the United States.

Washington State Data

County & City Data
Provided by Office of Financial Management, provides data related to population, economy, and more.
Department of Health
Data on infectious diseases, injury & trauma, maternal & child health and more.
Department of Revenue
Use "Create a Report" tool to download tables on gross business income, taxable retail sales, local tax distributions and more.
Department of Transportation
Annual mileage, collisions and traffic data.
Office of Financial Management
Includes data "related to the state budget, public policy and demographics" including health care, human services and education.
Puget Sound Regional Council
Data and reports on economic, transportation and social topics used by municipal governments in the Puget Sound region.

International / Other Country Statistics & Data

CANSIM
Interactive tool provided by Statistics Canada for access to large range of statistics available in Canada
EuroStats
Official statistics site of the European Union.
Global Health Facts
Statistics on rates of TB, malaria, HIV/AIDS and more.
ICPSR
ICPSR provides access to a data archive of more than 8,500 research studies. Membership in ICPSR is provided by the Center for Social Science Computation and Research (CSSCR).

*UW users are strongly encouraged to work directly with CSSCR to access datasets identified through the ICPSR website: http://julius.csscr.washington.edu/icpsr.htm
International Database
Global statistics on population, birth rate and mortality from the US Census bureau.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Publications and datasets by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development & affiliated agencies.

United Nations Data
Searches all data sources maintained by the United Nations. Includes data from the World Health Organization, International Labor Organization and UNICEF.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
UNESCO collects international data on education, literacy, culture, and science and technology.
World Bank Data
Find 200+ country profiles, data by indicator (300+ available), data by source, and/or indicators by topic.
World Development Indicators
Covers over 575 development indicators (e.g. literacy rates, arable land, infant mortality) from 1960 to the present.

Health Data

Best starting point is the Health Sciences Data and Statistics Sources guide.

Behavioral Risk Factor Survey
"(W)orld’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984."
CDC Data & Statistics
Contains data and data sets from the U.S. Center for Disease Control
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
IHME's (Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation) catalog of the world's health and demographic data. Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.
HealthData.gov
Data & Data Sets provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Kaiser State Health Facts
Data on more than 700 health topics covering the United States.
WHO Global Health Observatory
Data on health topics including mortality, child health and nutrition, environmental health, violence, and more. Includes annual summary of health-related data for WHO member states.
more...less...
provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.
In addition, the GHO provides on-line access to WHO's annual summary of health-related data for its 193 Member states: the World Health Statistics 2011.
Finding and Using Health Statistics
An online course from the National Library of Medicine which "describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search."