Native Art, History & Culture: Links

Links

A list of some of the best free Web sites for North American Indian research.

UW Libraries American Indians of the Pacific Northwest, digital collection
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
Alaska's Digital Archives
Includes a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Several of these materials pertain to Alaska Native history and culture.
American Memory
Provides free and open-access to material from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, including written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Browse the Native American History collections.
Bureau of Indian Affairs, US Department of the Interior
"Established in 1824, IA currently provides services to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. There are 565 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Natives in the United States."
Governor's Office of Indian Affairs (Washington State)
Serves as a liaison between state and tribal governments in an advisory, resource, consultation, and educational capacity.
The Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development
"The Harvard Project aims to understand and foster the conditions under which sustained, self-determined social and economic development is achieved among American Indian nations through applied research and service." Contains a wealth of linked publications.
Indians of North America - Library of Congress
"A compilation of many of the resources on the Indians of North America available at the Library of Congress as well as selected resources outside the Library."
The Kennedy Center: ArtsEdge
"Experience traditional Native American culture through dance, music and visual arts. Watch Native Pride the eagle and hoop dances, trace the life of a Navajo weaver, learn how Keith Bear makes a flute, make a listening doll, and meet fancy dancers Larry and Jessup Yazzie."
Museum of Contemporary Native Arts
"The Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA) is the country’s only museum for exhibiting, collecting and interpreting the most progressive work of contemporary Native artists. MoCNA is dedicated solely to advancing the scholarship, discourse and interpretation of contemporary Native art for regional, national and international audiences."
National Congress of American Indians
"Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities."
Native American Heritage Month
A collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration that pays tribute to the rich ancestry and traditions of Native Americans.
National Museum of the American Indian YouTube Channel
Contains videos of lectures and symposia, music performances, native storytelling, and more.
Pacific Northwest Indian Tribes and Languages
"An index to Native American language and cultural information pertaining to Northwest Coast Indian tribes."
Tribal Court Cearinghouse
"The Tribal Law and Policy Institute is a Native American owned and operated non-profit corporation organized to design and deliver education, research, training, and technical assistance programs which promote the enhancement of justice in Indian country and the health, well-being, and culture of Native peoples."
UCLA American Indian Studies Center
The UCLA American Indian Studies Center was founded in 1969 at the University of California, Los Angeles as a research institute dedicated to addressing American Indian issues and supporting Indian communities. The Center also serves as a bridge between the academy and indigenous peoples locally, nationally, and internationally.

Native Art, History & Culture: Links

Links

NMAI Blog