BWRIT 135 Research Writing (Ferreira): Finding Articles about Global Education Topics

Key Databases in Education

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education related scholarly articles and books
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education.

ERIC (DOE)
Publicly available version of ERIC provided by the Department of Education

Open Access Journals

Digital Commons Network--Education Commons
The Digital Commons Network: Education Commons contains 134,500+ Open Access full-text articles pertaining to Education.

Additional Databases & Resources

Browse eJournals
Search by title to browse specific publications
Browse eJournals in Education
A list of e-journals in education-related fields

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations and selected masters theses from 1861 to the present; includes 2 million+ full text dissertations published since 1997.

UW Libraries Databases A to Z: Articles and More
Alphabetical list of all databases available through the UW Libraries system

Education Research Journals & Reviews of Research

Review of Educational Research
Publishes critical reviews on research in fields related to education.
American Educational Research Journal
Publishes original empirical and theoretical studies and analyses in education. SIA section focuses on significant political, cultural, social, economic, and organizational issues in education and the TLHD section explores the processes and outcomes of teaching, learning, and human development at all educational levels and in both formal and informal settings

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Click on Education to see a list of bibliographies on different topics in education research.

Educational Researcher
Publishes scholarly articles in a broad range or areas related to education research
Review of Research in Education
Provides an annual overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays
Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics
Includes publications that develop original statistical methods useful for the applied statistician working in educational or behavioral research

Current Issues in Education (Professional Magazines)

Education Week
A publication providing information and context for critical issues affecting schools and education in America.
Educational Leadership
A publication containing information about teaching and learning, new ideas and practices relevant to practicing educators, and the latest trends and issues affecting prekindergarten through higher education.
Phi Delta Kappan
A professional magazine with current information and issues in K-12 education
Education Next
Covers current issues and research in school reform.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
An interactive tool created by NCSU Libraries.

Managing Citations

Looking for a way to organize and cite your references? Check out the options listed on the Research & Citation Tools page.

Guides for ERIC & Saving Searches

ERIC Guide
Covers the basic structure of the EBSCO version of the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) database as well as use of the Thesaurus, database content and using Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery services to order content not available.
Saving/Organizing searches (EBSCO databases)
How to create a personalized My EBSCOhost account to save searches and organize them by class or project.

Note! As of August 2012 many ERIC documents published prior to 2005 have been taken off-line for the removal of sensitive personally identifiable information. You can still request these materials via interlibrary loan.