BIS 300: Interdisciplinary Inquiry (Lambacher): Articles - Scholarly & News

Course guide for BIS 300 section in Fall 2023

Articles for Methods Activity - Library Workshop 2

1) Wood, E. A., Douglas, H., Fiore, A. J., Nappy, M. K., Bernier, R., & Chapman, K. S. (2019). Perceived water insecurity among adults from urban and peri-urban Haiti: A qualitative study. PLoS ONE, 14(4), 1–13. https://doi-org.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/10.1371/journal.pone.0214790

2) Moskell, C., & Allred, S. B. (2013). Residents' beliefs about responsibility for the stewardship of park trees and street trees in new york city. Landscape and Urban Planning, 120, 85-95. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.landurbplan.2013.08.002

3) Kotykova, O., & Babych, M. (2019). Economic Impact of Food Loss and Waste. Agris On-Line Papers in Economics & Informatics, 11(3), 55–71. https://doi-org.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/10.7160/aol.2019.110306

4) Satyen, L., Dort, J., & Yin, S. (2019). Gender norms in the chinese community in melbourne, australia: Family and community roles. Australian Psychologist. https://doi-org.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/10.1111/ap.12402

Bonus article:

Klein, R., Julian, K. A., Snyder, E. D., Koch, J., Ufere, N. N., Volerman, A., … From the Gender Equity in Medicine (GEM) workgroup. (2019). Gender Bias in Resident Assessment in Graduate Medical Education: Review of the Literature. JGIM: Journal of General Internal Medicine, 34(5), 712–719. https://doi-org.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/10.1007/s11606-019-04884-0

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases contain articles and other content across a variety of disciplines which means it's less specialized but good starting points for locating articles. Think of them as the "one-stop shopping" sources of the database world. You can find articles ranging from business to science to the arts.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.

Subject-Specific Databases

Subject-specific databases provide a more limited but also more specialized "bucket" of content for you to search through. They are useful when you're doing research in a specific field or discipline. You can compare them to visiting a doctor who specializes in one type of medicine and has extensive and deep knowledge about it.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on American and Canadian history
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other material covering environmental sciences.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles in communication, mass media and related fields.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications in criminology and related disciplines; international in scope.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly publications covering the geosciences: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized legal journals, reviews, U.S. government documents, regulations, laws, and treaties.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of scholarly articles covering world history (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative journal articles with a concentration on biomedicine, 1946-present.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines, 1872 to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to books and journal articles on all aspects of women's studies.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scientific and management literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, books, dissertations, working papers and book reviews on economics. 1886-present.

News Article Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers, 1980's-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington State, national & regional newspapers, 1980 - present

Seattle Times via Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Access full text of the Seattle Times via Access World News.

How can I get the full text of an article?

What should you do if you find an interesting article in a database but no link to the full text?

Click on the purple "Check for full text" button – this button will attempt to connect you to the full text article if it is owned by the UW.