Research Guides
Animal Welfare & Laboratory Animal Alternatives (IACUC Searches): Databases
Conducting literature searches required by the Animal Welfare Act and the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC). Identifying ways to reduce pain or distress in laboratory animals. Support for UW IACUC protocols
Recommended Databases
The Animal Welfare Information Center recommends conducting each search in at least 2 databases.
If you want to search multiple databases at the same time, we recommend:
- Web of Science. Click on "All Databases" to get access to Web of Science, Medline, and other content; or
- Embase, which encompasses the Embase and Medline databases.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical journal articles & conference abstracts. Database also includes Medline content. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection: multidisciplinary database covering sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Choose "All Databases" to include Medline, Korean Journal Database, Russian Science Citation Index, and SciELO Citation Index. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core biomedical article database, including animal, in vitro, and clinical studies. - Agricola This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles and books on animals used for agricultural and research purposes
- Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary coverage of the global engineering literature.
