Animal Welfare & Laboratory Animal Alternatives (IACUC Searches): General Approach

Investigators are required to consider suitable alternatives to any procedures likely to cause animals pain or distress.

Investigation of suitable alternatives should address the 3 R's:

• Replacement: Can the proposed animals be replaced with insentient animals or non-animal models such as in vitro or in silico methods?
• Reduction: Can comparable levels of information be obtained from the use of fewer animals?  Is maximum information being obtained from a given number of animals without increasing pain or distress?
• Refinement: Can experimental methods be refined to eliminate or reduce animal pain or distress? 

Each literature search should be conducted in at least two databases. If you want, you can search two databases at once by using either:

• Embase which includes both Embase and Medline content;or
• Web of Science which includes the Web of Science Core Collection and Medline content if you select "All Databases."

A useful approach is to:

1. Search for papers that are studying what you are studying in your protocol. 
   Determine if you are duplicating work that's already been done.
   Review these references to look for experimental refinements and other potential ways to address the 3 R's.
2. Conduct a separate search, consult an expert, or review other resources to look for:
   in vitro, in silico, or non-mammalian alternatives; and/or
   techniques for reducing pain and distress.

Step 1: Identify Key Concepts and Procedures in Your Protocol

• Generate a list of search terms - including synonyms - based on these key concepts.
  • Consider disease mechanism, proposed animal species, cell types, test compounds, procedures, etc.
  • Consider procedures that could be improved or innovations that could be expected, such as use of cell lines, telemetry, improved intubation techniques, or pain reduction.

Step 2: Select Appropriate Databases

• Review the list of recommended databases and select more than one database to search.
• Embase (which includes Medline and Embase) or Web of Science (Click on "All Databases") are good platforms for searching multiple databases simultaneously.

Step 3: Develop Your Search Strategy

• Generate your search questions, such as "have there been improvements in this model that would reduce pain and/or distress?"
• Review search tips to create your search strategy.
• Contact the Life Sciences Librarian if you want help.

Step 4: Document Searches

• Include details required by IACUC protocol.  Include the complete search strategy showing how terms were combined.
• Consider setting up an alert so you can receive regular updates of references on your topic.