Skip to main content
Individual study space @ Research Commons now available by reservation. All other Libraries spaces are closed. Online resources and support are available 24/7! UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
AAOKH (Alaska Arctic Observatory & Knowledge Hub)
Tracks environmental change from a community perspective by aiding the sharing of sea ice conditions and local observations, growing in importance as seasonal cycles change
Annual Arctic Ice Atlas
Documents Canadian Arctic winter sea ice conditions to provide a comparison from year to year.
Arctic Environmental Atlas
Online atlas presents environmental variables & parameters on the environment in the Arctic region. From the UN Environment Programme.
Arctic Portal Mapping System
Online data map from the Arctic Council.
Arctic Web Map (AWM)
Arctic Web Map (AWM) is an Arctic-specific web mapping tool allowing researchers to customize map projections for scientifically accurate visualization and analysis, a function that is critical for arctic research but missing in existing web mapping platforms. It provides a visually appealing tool for education and outreach to a wider audience.
Atlas of Canada
Online collection of maps & related information covering diverse topics from climate change to the economy to health. Includes a map of the northern circumpolar region.
Atlas of Community-Based Monitoring & Indigenous Knowledge in a Changing Arctic
Atlas designed to showcase the many community-based monitoring (CBM) and Indigenous Knowledge (IK) initiatives across the circumpolar region
Historical Sea Ice Atlas
Visualizes historical sea ice data from the Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy
IBRU Centre for Borders Research - Arctic Maps
Online maps from Durham University's International Boundaries Research Unit, identifying maritime jurisdictions and claims.
Oceans North - Canada's Arctic Marine Atlas
Comprehensive look at Arctic environment undergoing dramatic shifts due to climate change, relying on the latest data to describe its ecology within the context of humans’ interaction with the natural world
Atlas of Submarine Glacial Landforms: Modern, Quaternary and Ancient by
Publication Date: 2016
Presents over 180 contributions describing, illustrating and discussing the full variability of landforms found on the high-latitude glacier-influenced seafloor, from fjords and continental shelves to the continental slope, rise and deep-sea basins beyond, providing key information on past ice-sheet extent and the direction and nature of ice flow and dynamics.
Circumpolar Health Atlas by
Publication Date: 2012
Presents a portrait of life in the Arctic region, with an emphasis on the factors that contribute to human health in this area.An informative and practical reference guide for health researchers, service providers, and policy makers, offering a broad, multidisciplinary understanding of the health of diverse populations who inhabit the polar regions of the northern hemisphere. Includes overviews of the physical environment influencing human health; cultures and languages of northern peoples; different diseases and health conditions; and health systems, policies, resources, and services.
Historical Atlas of the Arctic by
Publication Date: 2003
Documents the international race for the Pole with the detailed historical maps, insightful commentary, and descriptions of the aspirations and motivations of explorers and the harsh realities they faced.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada by
Publication Date: 2018
Groundbreaking four-volume atlas sharing the experiences, perspectives, and histories of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. Explores themes of language, demographics, economy, environment and culture, with in-depth coverage of treaties and residential schools. Includes reference maps, content from more than 50 Indigenous writers, hundreds of historical and contemporary photographs, a glossary of Indigenous terms, timelines, map of Indigenous languages, and more.
Национальный атлас Арктики by
Publication Date: 2017
Russian language print atlas contains almost 500 thematic, satellite, and nautical maps of the Arctic and Far North. Also includes narratives on the history of surveys and marine expeditions in the Russian Arctic, its geomorphology, economic development, mineral resources, indigenous populations and social structures. Located in Suzzallo First Floor Folios, G1055 .F4 2017