Research Guides
Arctic & Northern Studies: Encyclopedias
American & Canadian Studies, European Studies, International Studies, Arctic, Canada, Canadian Studies, Northern Studies
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias and other reference sources can provide background information on your topic and help identify key people, events and dates. Many encyclopedia articles will provide a bibliography or list of related readings that you can use in your own research. Items in Reference locations are library use only.
The Eastern Arctic Seas Encyclopedia by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2016Encyclopedia covering the geography, natural resources, history, and more about the seas of the Laptev, East Siberian, and Chukchi Seas
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2002Online encyclopedia covers the many facets of global environmental change and appropriate engineering and policy responses
Encyclopedia of the Arctic by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2004Detailed essays on the Arctic's environment, wildlife, climate, history, exploration, resources, economics, politics, indigenous cultures and languages, conservation initiatives and more. The only major work and comprehensive reference on the vast, complex, changing, and increasingly important Arctic region.
Exploring Polar Frontiers: A Historical Encyclopedia by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2003Covers the history of Arctic and Antarctic exploration, from the voyage to Pytheas ca. 325 BC to the present. Features
biographical, geographical and subject entries on Arctic and Antarctic exploration and explorers and a chronology of expeditions.
Handbook of the Politics of the Arctic by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2015Drawing on the perspectives of geopolitics and international law, offers fresh insights and perspectives on the pressing Arctic issues, grouped under the headings of political ascendancy, climate and environmental issues, resources and energy, and the response and policies of affected countries
Historical Dictionary of the Inuit by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2013 (2nd ed.)Introduces us to the Inuit as they actually are, as a modern people trying to shape their worlds in their own interest. Dictionary includes informative entries on persons, places, events and institutions, shedding light on culture, society, economy, and politics.
The Oxford Handbook of the Prehistoric Arctic by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2016The North American Arctic holds a complex and lengthy history relating to Inuit, Inupiat, Inuvialuit, Yup'ik and Aleut peoples and their ancestors. Each arctic cultural tradition is described in detail, with up-to-date coverage of recent interpretations of all aspects of their lifeways. Additional chapters cover broad themes applicable to the full range of arctic cultures, such as trade, stone tool technology, ancient DNA research, and the relationship between archaeology and modern arctic communities.
