Research Guides
Arctic & Northern Studies: Nunavut Territory
American & Canadian Studies, European Studies, International Studies, Arctic, Canada, Canadian Studies, Northern Studies
Quick Context
Nunavut is the newest, largest and northernmost of Canada's three northern territories. Nunavut was created in 1999 from the eastern half of the Northwest Territories, as part of the 1992 lands claim agreement between the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and the Government of Canada.
- Canadian Northern Economic Development AgencyDescribes the Government of Canada's vision for its Northern Territories.
- Government of NunavutThe Nunavut Government administers Canada's largest territory.
- Nunavut TunngavikNunavut Tunngavik Inc. is the legal representative of the Inuit in the Canadian territory of Nunavut for the purposes of native treaty rights and treaty negotiation and one of the four regional members that make up the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami.
Government documents
- Land claims agreement for NunavutLink to the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement, including maps.
Find Books about Nunavut and Its People
The University Libraries has many holdings about Nunavut and its people. Selected titles are listed on this page. Additional books can be found in UW Libraries Advanced Search by selecting "in subject" from the drop-down menu and searching for any of these subject terms:
New Books
Les Inuit connectés: Internet et les réseaux sociaux au service des Inuit du Nunavut by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2023
Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit: Shamanism and Reintegrating Wrongdoers into the Community by Call Number: EBOOKPublication Date: 2021 (2nd ed.)
Books, Media, Newspapers
- Making a living : place, food, and economy in an Inuit communityPrint book discusses the experiences of an Inuit community as it strives to retain the values rooted in life on the land while adjusting to the realities of life in settlements
- Nunatsiaq NewsNewspaper of record for Nunavut and the Nunavik territory of Quebec, published since 1975.
- Nunavut : a health system profilePrint book provides an overview of medical care, health services and public health in Nunavut.
- Nunavut: rethinking political cultureE-book explores political attitudes, behaviour, and institutions in Nunavut before, during, and after the creation of the new territory.
- Nunavut generations : change and continuity in Canadian Inuit communitiesPrint book introduces readers to four Baffin Island communities in the eastern Canadian Arctic and focuses on the challenges and hardships they face in transition from hunting-gathering lifestyles to wage employment and political participation in towns.
- Uqalurait: An Oral History of NunavutE-book. An authoritative and comprehensive compilation of the ancient knowledge of Inuit elders. Also available in print in Suzzallo/Allen Stacks at E99.E7 B473 2004.
Article Indexes & Research Databases
- Arctic and Antarctic Regions This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other material on all aspects of the polar regions - Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of North America's aboriginal culture, history and life. Includes books, journals and government documents. Includes some links to full-text.
