Skip to main content
Research Guides

Gaihozu: Using the Gaihozu Collection for Research

Resources for researching and using Gaihozu (Japanese imperial maps).

Using the UW Gaihozu Collection for Research

Research incorporating maps from the UW Gaihozu Collection has included a publication on the 1938 Yellow River Flood's representation in maps. See below for a map incorporating secrecy levels from the UW Gaihozu Collection. (To view results from "軍事機密: Top-Level Military Secret" maps, please search using the box at the bottom right of the widget.)

Using the Naikokuzu (Domestic Japanese Military Captured Maps) Collection

The Naikokuzu (Domestic Japanese Military Captured Maps) Collection is indexed by area. To use the index, refer to the Index of Index Maps below:

1. First locate your requested area on the Index of Index Maps. The box number for each map area refers to a page within the Naikokuzu Index. For example, to access a map from Tokyo, you would locate the Tokyo area on the Index of Index Maps, then go to page 11 in the Naikokuzu Index.

2. Each page within the Naikokuzu Index provides more detailed area map information, including map section and folder number. For example, on page 11, you would see that Tokyo is indexed as Section 49. The area enclosed in red indicates that the Tokyo maps are stored in Folder 19. More detailed local area map names are provided on the Naikokuzu Index as well.

Note: The UW Collection is currently lacking 5 maps:

Beyonnaise-Retsusan (138-1)

Ishigaki-shima (163-8, 166-9, 166-10, 166-14)

Naikokuzu (Domestic Japanese Military Captured Maps) Collection Index

Questions

For more information on accessing and using the collection, please contact:

Azusa Tanaka, Japanese Studies Librarian
Tel: 206-543-6211
Email: azusat@u.washington.edu