Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- German Studies
- Encyclopedias & Overviews
German Studies: Encyclopedias & Overviews
Library resources for the study of German language, literature, and cultural studies.
The following sources provide quick information on German literature and culture as well as more in depth information such as research surveys of a topic and concise overviews. For language dictionaries see the Learn German guide.
Encyclopedias
- Concise Cinegraph: Encyclopaedia of German Cinema
This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of German Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
- This link opens in a new window
- Nibelungen Tradition: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Author Bio-Bibliographies
These multi-volumes sets provide brief biographies usually followed by a catalog raisonné & critical bibliography.
- Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary Overviews
For a general guide to literary theory see the Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism.
- Arab German Writers
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge companion to Goethe
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Companion to the Modern German Novel
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge History of German Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- Camden House History of German Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Middle High German Literature to the 14th Century
- This link opens in a new window
- German Ecocriticism: An Overview
- This link opens in a new window
- German Literature: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- German Literature and Thought From 1810 to 1890
- This link opens in a new window
- German Pop Literature: A Companion
- This link opens in a new window
- Medieval German Literature: A Companion
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Companion to German Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of European Romanticism
- This link opens in a new window