Skip to Main Content
Berlin TV tower. Photo by Julius Drost on Unsplash.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and more covering all aspects of linguistics.
Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) This link opens in a new window
German literature and linguistics sources, 1985 to present.
Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG) This link opens in a new window
Online bio-bibliographical dictionary with critical essays on contemporary (since 1945) German authors; indexes both primary and secondary literature.
Datenbank-Paket Duden This link opens in a new window
German language dictionaries, style guides, spelling, and grammar, as well as specialized dictionaries for law, medicine, and economics.
Starting Points: Books & eBooks
See the eBook FAQ for directions to limit your search to ebooks only.
- By Topic - Type in the keywords that broadly describe your topic. For example: goethe science nature
- By Title - Type in the first few words of the book title in quotations. For example: "grillparzers welttheater"
- By Author - Type in the last name followed by the first name of the author in quotations. For example: "wiggins ellwood"
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search the holdings of over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Use this search to find books and other materials not available in UW and Summit Libraries. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not owned by UW Libraries or its borrowing partners.
Chat with a Librarian
If you need help immediately, you can speak with a librarian using our 24/7 chat service!
Related Links & Guides
The University of Washington’s digital repository (also known as “institutional repository”) for disseminating scholarly work.
German Studies Web
An awesome variety of scholarly resources maintained by the European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. (Mostly free resources, but there may be some things that the UW does not have subscriptions for -- request from ILL.)
Includes biographical dictionary of contemporary German authors, audio samples, current literary events and more.
"Listen to the poet." Poems in text, in audio, in German (and other languages and in translation).
Germanistik im Netz
A single search starting point for Germanics from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. Searches catalogs for print books and journals as well as digital resources, online databases, and websites. (UW will not have access to everything listed -- request from ILL.)