Research Guides
German Studies: Home
Library resources for the study of German language, literature, and cultural studies.
Willkommen
Berlin TV tower. Photo by Julius Drost on Unsplash.
Recommended Resources
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and more covering all aspects of linguistics. - Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
German literature and linguistics sources, 1985 to present. - Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online bio-bibliographical dictionary with critical essays on contemporary (since 1945) German authors; indexes both primary and secondary literature. - Datenbank-Paket Duden This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
German language dictionaries, style guides, spelling, and grammar, as well as specialized dictionaries for law, medicine, and economics.
- Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach (DLM or DLA)The collections of the German Literature Archive Marbach. An English-language interface is also available.
- German Studies CollaboratoryA virtual hub of resources for those interested in German language, art, culture, and history.
Starting Points: Books & eBooks
See the eBook FAQ for directions to limit your search to ebooks only.
- By Topic - Type in the keywords that broadly describe your topic. For example: goethe science nature
- By Title - Type in the first few words of the book title in quotations. For example: "grillparzers welttheater"
- By Author - Type in the last name followed by the first name of the author in quotations. For example: "wiggins ellwood"
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowSearch the holdings of over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Use this search to find books and other materials not available in UW and Summit Libraries. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not owned by UW Libraries or its borrowing partners.
Chat with a Librarian
German Studies Librarian
Deb Raftus
She/her
Contact:
On Leave
I'm away through December. Please use UW Libraries Ask Us! services (chat, email, or consultations). You can also reach the Arts & Humanities Team at uwlib-ahteam@uw.edu.
I'm away through December. Please use UW Libraries Ask Us! services (chat, email, or consultations). You can also reach the Arts & Humanities Team at uwlib-ahteam@uw.edu.
Related Links & Guides
- Open Access Resources in German Studies (OARGS)A partial and selective inventory of open access materials for German Studies. (Compiled by BYU Libraries)
- ResearchWorksThe University of Washington’s digital repository (also known as “institutional repository”) for disseminating scholarly work.
- German Studies WebAn awesome variety of scholarly resources maintained by the European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. (Mostly free resources, but there may be some things that the UW does not have subscriptions for -- request from ILL.)
- LiteraturportIncludes biographical dictionary of contemporary German authors, audio samples, current literary events and more.
- Lyrikline"Listen to the poet." Poems in text, in audio, in German (and other languages and in translation).
- Germanistik im NetzA single search starting point for Germanics from the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. Searches catalogs for print books and journals as well as digital resources, online databases, and websites. (UW will not have access to everything listed -- request from ILL.)