Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Latin American and Caribbean Studies
- Encyclopedias (Background Information)
Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Encyclopedias (Background Information)
Starting point for research in Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Major encyclopedia: Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Latin American History
Two online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online.
Quick Info: General Encyclopedias
- Conflict in the Early Americas: An Encyclopedia of the Spanish Empire's Aztec, Incan, and Mayan Conquests
This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Latin America
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Spanish-American and Philippine-American Wars: A Political, Social, and Military History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of U.S. - Latin American Relations
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
- This link opens in a new window
- Historic Cities of the Americas: An Illustrated Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Spanish Empire : A Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Quick Info: Regional Encyclopedias
- A to Z of Ancient Mesoamerica
- This link opens in a new window
- Borderlands: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Politics on the U.S.-Mexico Divide
- This link opens in a new window
- Brazil Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History, Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Ancient Maya
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Incas
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Cuba
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Haiti
- This link opens in a new window
- Iconic Mexico: An Encyclopedia from Acapulco to Zocalo
- This link opens in a new window
- Mexican Cartel: An Encyclopedia of Mexico's Crime and Drug Wars
- This link opens in a new window
- Mexico Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
- This link opens in a new window
- Modern Brazil
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture
- This link opens in a new window
In-Depth Info: Handbooks
These books provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews.
- Andean World
- This link opens in a new window
- Aztecs: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library
- This link opens in a new window
- Iberian World 1450–1820
- This link opens in a new window
- Maya World
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Borderlands in the Iberian World
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Latin American Christianity
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Latin American History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Archaeology
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Aztecs
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Incas
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Afro-Latin American Studies
- This link opens in a new window