Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Who We Are
- Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders
Who We Are: Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders
Table of Contents
Introduction: Telling All Americans' Stories
Spotlighted Stories:
Pacific Territories
The Annexation of the Philippines
Continue Your Research
- Who We Are: Asian American and Pacific Islander HeritageA guide from the National Parks Service on important people and places.
- Asian Americans : an encyclopedia of social, cultural, economic, and political history
This link opens in a new window
More than 600 articles provide information about the people, history, and culture of Asians in the United States. - Encyclopedia of Asian American issues today
- This link opens in a new window
More than 100 entries on the "current state of affairs, controversies, successes, and outlooks for future for Asian Americans.
- Asian American History and Culture byCall Number: E184.A75 A8287 2010With overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States.
Pacific Territories
Guam
Guam, along with the Philippines and Puerto Rico, was ceded to the US in the Treaty of Paris of 1898. It is currently an unincorporated, organized territory of the United States. Guam elects one representative to the US House who can vote in committee but not on legislation and sends delegates to the major party conventions, but its citizens cannot vote in Presidential elections despite being American Citizens.
In 1997, the current iteration of the Commission on Decolonization was established. They have met intermittently over the last 20 years and continue to work with the United Nations Special Committee on Decolonization for Guamanian independence. Their efforts have included moves for a plebiscite in 2016 and funding a public information campaign on the different paths Guam could take toward greater self-determination.
- Guampedia"Guampedia is a community project that highlights the unique Chamorro heritage and history of Guam and the Mariana Islands."
- Issues in Guam's political development : the Chamorro perspective
- This link opens in a new window
- Commission on DecolonizationAlso on
The Northern Mariana Islands
Officially the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, this territory is under the administration of the United States per UN Security Council Resolution 21. The Commonwealth has a non-voting representative in the US House of Representatives and no representation in the Senate.
- United Nations Security Council Resolution 21The full text of Resolution 21 is also available from Wikisource.
- The Covenant to Establish a Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands in Political Union with the United States of AmericaThis document defines the relationship between the Northern Mariana Islands and the United States. It is reproduced at 48 USC 1801.
American Samoa
American Samoa is the half of the Samoan archipelago that was claimed by the United States in the Tripartite Convention of 1899. In the present day, it is an unincorporated, unorganized territory administered by the US Department of the Interior. American Samoans are represented by a non-voting delegate to the House of Representatives and send delegates to the major party conventions, but cannot vote in Presidential elections. People born on American Samoa are American Nationals but not American Citizens. They are instead considered "non-citizen nationals" until such time as they attain citizenship by naturalization by fulfilling the residency requirement, passing a civics test, and pledging an oath of allegiance to the US.
- Performing a Risk Assessment Would Better Inform U.S. Agencies of the Risks Related to Acceptance of Certificates of IdentityAmerican Samoa operates its own customs and immigration programs, which have separate organizational structures and functions and are based on local laws, regulations, policies, and procedures. Unlike other US territories, American Samoa is not considered a part of the United States for immigration purposes. This means that a lawful permanent resident of the US can be considered to have abandoned their residence if they have moved to American Samoa.
- Brief of the Honorable Eni F.H. Faleomavaega as Amicus Curae in Support of DefendantsCongressman Faleomavaega filed this amicus curiae brief in "Tuaua et al. vs. United States of America" in support of the claim that the Citizenship Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment does not extend birthright citizenship to US Nationals born in unincorporated territories.
Pacific Outlying Islands
Of the US's 11 uninhabited territories, 8 (Baker Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, the Johnston Atoll, the Kingman Reef, Midway Atoll, the Palmyra Atoll, and Wake Island) are located in the Pacific. Except for the Palmyra Atoll which is incorporated, all of the US Minor Outlying Islands are unincorporated and unorganized.
- Howland Island National Wildlife RefugeUninhabited when the US took posession of the island under the Guano Islands Act, Howland shows archeological evidence of prehistoric settlement. In 1935, settlers from the American Equatorial Islands Colonization Project attempted to inhabit the island. These attempts were abandoned during WWII. The American Equatorial Islands Colonization Project was recognized by SR 239.
- The Johnston AtollKnown as Kalama Atoll to Native Hawaiians, the atoll was added to the United States National Wildlife Refuge system in 1926 to protect the tropical ecosystem. However, it has also been used as a military base/refueling station where several extremely toxic chemicals (including Agent Orange) were stored. In 2009, the EPA declared the closure of the military base a clean closure.
- Midway AtollOne of the oldest atoll formations in the world, Midway Atoll is a significant seabird nesting site (hence it's distinction as a national wildlife sanctuary). It is perhaps best known for the roll it played as the site of one of the most significant naval battles in history.
- Wake IslandAbout 100 people are stationed at the Wake Island Air Force Base, which is used primarily as a mid-Pacific refueling station and and emergency landing base. In military history terms, Wake was formally claimed during the Spanish American War and Wake Island was the second target attacked by the Japanese forces during World War II. In recognition of the role it played during WWII, it was designated a national historic landmark in 1985. Today it is a wildlife refuge and remains an important symbol of America's presence in the Pacific.
Chinese Exclusion
Starting in the late 1840s, the US saw a huge influx of Chinese immigrants, especially on the west coast. Many of these immigrants worked in mines, on the new railroads, and in fishing and canneries. Initially, they were welcomed, but factors like an economic downturn in the 1870s caused sentiment to shift. This was complicated by the fact that big business often brought in immigrant labor to break strikes and to avoid paying their workers a living wage. Several anti-Chinese riots occurred in western states and in 1882, the Chinese Exclusion Act was passed by Congress, which banned the immigration of Chinese laborers to the United States. Additional legislation in 1892 and 1904 renewed the ban, which was not lifted until 1943.
- "Mobs forcibly expel most of Seattle's Chinese residents beginning on February 7, 1886."This essay from HistoryLink provides an overview of anti-Chinese riots in Seattle.
- Chinese Exclusion in New JerseyA look from the other coast at the issue.
- The 1897 Petition Against the Annexation of HawaiiProvides more in-depth historical background on the annexation.
- The annexation of Hawaii : a collection of documents byPublication Date: 2003This collection is part of the overall Hawaiian collection at the University of Hawaii, a comprehensive collection of retrospective and current materials pertaining to Hawaii. Items in the collection cover Hawaiian history, culture, art and science.
- Chronicling America: The Annexation of HawaiiNews coverage of the Annexation.
- An Act to Provide for the Admission of the State of Hawaii into the UnionIn 1959, Hawaii joined the Union as a full state. There had been many petitions for statehood over the 60 years since annexation, but amid racial tensions none were successful until late 1959.
Here is a small sampling of documents from the National Archives relating to Hawaii's statehood.
- The Philippine Organic Act of 1902Also known as the Philippine Bill of 1902 or the Cooper Act. Its approval coincided with the end of the Philippine–American War.
- The Jones Law of 1916Also known as the Jones Act, the Philippine Autonomy Act, or the Act of Congress of August 29, 1916, this piece of legislation replaced the Philippine Organic Act. It created the first fully elected Philippine Legislature and served as the constitution of the Philippines until 1934.
- The Tydings–McDuffie ActOfficially the Philippine Independence Act, this law established the process for the Philippines to become an independent country after a 10 year transition period. Under this act the 1935 Constitution was written and the Commonwealth of the Philippines was established with the first directly elected President. The proceedings were delayed by two years due to the Second World War.
- Treaty of Manila of 1946Formally the Treaty of General Relations and Protocol, this treaty recognized the Republic of the Philippines.
Vestiges of War: the Philippine-American War and the aftermath of an imperial dream, 1899-1999 by ISBN: 9780814797907Publication Date: 2002-12-01
The Insular Cases
The Insular Cases, heard before the Supreme Court in the first quarter of the twentieth century, were borne out of the debate over the tax and tariff status for overseas territories and the question of whether people in those territories would be fully considered United States Citizens. The four most significant are generally considered to be Downes v. Bidwell (1901), Dorr v. United States (1904), Balzac v. Porto Rico (1922), and Rassmussen v. United States (1925).
Of the four, Downes (1901) rises among the Insular Cases as perhaps the most significant. Downes was a citrus importer based in NY and had been forced to pay import duties on oranges from PR. In DeLima v. Bidwell (1901), the court had decided that since PR had been acquired by the US normal customs levied on imports from foreign countries no longer applied, but the Foraker act had levied specific customs duties against PR. Downes submitted to the court that under Article I Section 8 of the Constitution the duties were unconstitutional. The court was stunningly divided in this 5-4 decision with five different opinions entered (one majority, with two separate concurrences, and two dissenting). In the majority decision, it was held that the newly annexed territories were not properly part of the United States. It is from this decision that the idea of an "unincorporated territory" was born. The idea is that the United States can be the proprietor of a territory without that territory being fully incorporated into the union and is distinct from corporate incorporation. Arguably, the deeply divided decision in Downes v. Bidwell represented a step back in territorial governance from the supreme court and firmly left this in the hands of Congress going forward.
Dorr (1904) and Balzac (1925) dealt with the right to trial by jury. The former dealt with the Philippines, an unincorporated territory at the time, and the latter with Puerto Rico which is unincorporated today. In both, the court ruled against the plaintiffs who claimed their Sixth Amendment rights had been violated. The Court affirmed that the constitution did not extend "ex proprio vigore" (by its own force) do territories that had not been incorporated into the union, so the plaintiffs had no Sixth Amendment rights to violate.
Rassmussen (1925) dealt with Alaska. In contrast to the Philippines, Puerto Rico, and the other Pacific Territories acquired by the United States in treaty with Spain, Alaska was acquired from Russia with intent to include the territory in the union of states. The territories acquired from Spain according to the Court were acquired for ulterior purposes. Therefore, Alaska was an incorporated territory and its inhabitants were entitled to the full protection of the constitution.
- NARA: Japanese Relocation during WWIIProvides historical background and a collection of additional documents.
- Executive Order 9066Signed Feb. 19, 1942, this order authorized the Secretary of War to prescribe certain areas as military zones, clearing the way for the incarceration of Japanese Americans, German Americans, and Italian Americans in U.S. camps. The signing of Executive Order 9066 is commemorated as Japanese-American Day of Remembrance.
- Hirabayashi v. United States (1943)Overshadowed by Korematsu, this case from the year prior held that the application of curfews against members of a minority group were constitutional as the US was at war with the country from which that group originated. Hirabayashi was a UW student who had been convicted of violating curfew and exclusion order.
- Gordon K. Hirabayashi papers.Call Number: Suzzallo and Allen Libraries: Special Collections Manuscripts/ArchIf you're interested in a deeper dive, special Collections in Allen Library has archival materials on Hirabayashi. There is also a
- Korematsu v. United States (1944)In this landmark case, the Supreme Court upheld Executive Order 9066 in a 6-3 decision finding that "the military urgency of the situation demanded that all citizens of Japanese ancestry be segregated from the West Coast temporarily, and, finally, because Congress, reposing its confidence in this time of war in our military leaders—as inevitably it must—determined that they should have the power to do just this." (Justice Black's decision)
- Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 25 Japanese relocation camp newspapers, 1942 - 1945. (Gale Archives Unbound) - Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Demographic information from the Records of the War Relocation Authority on evacuees residing at the various relocation camps. (Gale Archives Unbound)
- Densho Digital ArchivesBased in Seattle, Densho’s mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished.
Manzanar by ISBN: 9780812917277Publication Date: 1988A description of the internment camp used to house Japanese Americans during World War II illustrated with photographs by Ansel Adams.
A statue of Lili'uokalani, the Last Queen of Hawai'i, at the Hawaiian State House in Honolulu.
By billsoPHOTO [CC BY-SA 2.0], via Wikimedia Commons.
- List of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in CongressFrom Wikipedia, this list includes historical as well as current representation.
Quantitative Data
Looking for quantitative resources? Try these:
- Explore Census Data This link opens in a new windowCensus and survey data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
- U.S. Statistics GuideStatistics resources from the UW Libraries.
Oral Histories
Combining "Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders" into one identity category is not uncommon, but doing so irons over the distinctions between a vast number of people from a variety of different backgrounds. If this selection of topics interests you, here are some ways to hear more stories to start further research.
- Chinese American Women in New EnglandA joint enterprise between Harvard and the Chinese Historical Society of New England.
- SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian American ExperienceText & images documenting post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam.
- UH Manoa Center for Oral Historyhe Center for Oral History (COH), in the Department of Ethnic Studies at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, collects, documents, preserves and highlights the recollections of Native Hawaiians and the multi-ethnic people of Hawaiʻi.
- Vietnamese American Oral History ProjectThis project out of the University of California, Irvine actively assembles, preserves, and disseminates the life stories of Vietnamese Americans in Southern California
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on American and Canadian history - Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English language publications in all subject areas, especially the humanities and the social sciences, related to East, Southeast, and South Asia. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present. - U.S. Federal Legislative History Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An expansive collection of federal legislative histories from the U.S. GPO and private publishers.
.jpg){kind=link}
- Taiwan National Treasure 國家寶藏Official archives of the US government and the UN for Taiwanese historical materials.
- China and the United States, 1960-1998: from Hostility to EngagementAvailable online and on microfiche with printed guide in the Microform & Newspaper Collections, UW Libraries, call number M3241