Government Sources by Subject: [U.S.] Statistics

Guided search and retrieval of data from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census, Equal Employment Opportunity surveys and more

Descriptions of Federal datasets, how to access them, and tools that leverage them.

Basic navigation of federal statistics by broad category

Statistics from government agencies by committee and agency.

A custom Google search engine for datasets available on the open web.

Access for all on-campus; login required from off-campus. Selected Census data from 1790 to the present with tract level data starting in 1940. Social Explorer allows users to create interactive maps and data reports.

Access on this page to both online and print resources to the Statistical Abstract. "If you want to know something about America, there are few better places to start than the Statistical Abstract of the United States," Washington Post columnist Robert J. Samuelson wrote in 2011.

A collection of open data portals and platforms from the U.S. Government.

National, international, regional and industry data.

Data collections searchable by topic, dynamic data analysis tools.

All economic news releases, the Major Economic Indicators (includes the Consumer Price Index and the National Unemployment Rate), databases and tools.

A primary source of data about the people and the economy of the United States.

The 22 Federal agencies in this forum work together, and with partners in private research organizations, to collect and analyze data on issues related to child and family well-being.

Publications and datasets released each year include issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, handbooks of standard terminology, Digest of Education Statistics, Projections of Education Statistics, The Condition of Education, and more. . .

The ESMIS system contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets, with both current and historical data, covering U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Search by title, browse titles from an agency, or browse by subject.

ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies

1790 -; includes special collections and reports as well as Measuring America the Decennial Censuses from 1790-2000 (PDF).

PDF format

PDF format

The Millennial edition has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series from over 1000 sources with topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Users can graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets. Fully searchable and downloadable.

National economic performance since 1929, providing annual data in regional, demographic, and industrial detail for key indicators such as: gross domestic product, personal income, spending, saving, employment, unemployment, the capital stock, and more. . .

A basic guide for non-specialists.