Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Primary Reference Sources
Primary Reference Sources
Cambridge Structural Database
Additional Chemical Information Resources
Graduate Student orientations
Citation and Project Managers
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
Chemistry-Chemical Information: Properties
These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for most chemical subjects including Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and Materials Sciences in the collections of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus.)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
91st Edition, 2010-2011, of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Available online and in print.
CHEMnetBASE is a collection of chemistry databases from CRC Press.
Contains information on Structure, Substance Identification, Toxicity, Physical Properties, Molecular Weight, and Locator Codes. Compiled by the National Library of Medicine.
A free databases that explores chemical structure, and more....
Free source from Chemical Abstracts which helps users go from chemical name to CAS RN or from CAS RN to chemical name for 7,900 commonly used compounds
DOE Data Explorer
In this database you can find scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images.
Database of Hazardous Materials
CAMEO Chemicals-Online, complied by NOAA
Environmental Fate Data Base
Household Products Database
Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Index of Chemistry Databases on the Web
This webpage provides a variety of freely available chemistry and biological databases (created by Indiana University).
Index to Physical, Chemical and Other Property Data
Excellent guide to finding sources of physical and chemical properties (created by Linda Shackle, ASU, Noble Library).
IUPAC Solubility Database
This database contains solubilities originally published in the International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry.
A unique way to search many handbooks and other science and engineering resources.
Landolt-Bornstein Substance/Property Index
This database contains information about substances and related properties.
A partial print collections located in Physics/Astronomy Reference.
LBNL/Lunds Table of Isotopes
List of US Government sites with Chemical data
NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
NIST CKMech-Kinetics, etc.
This site compiles research on the composition, structure and properties of industrial, biological and environmental materials and processes.
NIST Data Gateway
The NIST Data Gateway covers a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.
NIST Physical Reference Data
This tool provides access to the holdings of NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory online data organized by element.
The Organic Compounds Database
Protein Data Bank
The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
This is a freely accessible database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities. From the National Library of Medicine.
An index of thermodynamic and physical properties, created by University of Texas Library.
Thermophysical properties from NIST
US Dept. of Energy Science & Technology
Aug 16, 2018 8:14 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.