Research Guides
Geography: Home
Welcome to the research guide for Geography, a starting point for finding journal articles, books, data and more!
Starting Points / Top Resources
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
-
Ancestry This link opens in a new windowGenealogical records including census, military, immigration, marriage, yearbooks, biographical dictionaries, birth records.
-
Annals of the Association of American GeographersCore geography journal in environment, people, place and culture
-
Dewey Data This link opens in a new window
Dewey Data is a research platform that provides access to third-party datasets across a variety of data categories including foot traffic, construction permits, cryptocurrency, healthcare, workforce, consumer behavior, and transportation.
-
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
Research from the worlds leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.
-
Progress in Human GeographyCore journal in the field of Human Geography
-
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRM) This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, case studies, datasets, and video covering the practices of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research methodologies.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Related Links & Guides
Free E-Newspaper Access
The UW Libraries offers UW students, staff, and faculty free personal accounts to the following news websites. You can find additional e-newspaper databases on our E-Newspapers page.
Planet.com
The UW Libraries offers UW students, staff, and faculty free personal accounts to Planet.com. Additional GIS resources can be found at our Geospatial Data Resources guide.
Librarian
Kian Flynn
Contact:
Geography & Global Studies Librarian; International Documents
Suzzallo Library
Seattle, WA
Office Hours by appt.
Suzzallo Library
Seattle, WA
Office Hours by appt.
Other Key Resources
-
Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of reference works & ebooks on food studies.
-
FIMo: Fire Insurance Maps Online This link opens in a new windowFire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information
-
ImportGenius This link opens in a new windowInternational import and export shipment records, including factory, product, arrival dates and port-of-entry details. Husky OnNet is required for off-campus access.
-
International Encyclopedia of GeographyAn encyclopedia of over 1000 entries providing definitive coverage of the field, encompassing human geography, physical geography, geographic information science and systems, earth studies, and environmental science.
-
Oxford Bibliographies: GeographyScholarly, annotated listing of the most important and significant sources on geography-related topics.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Food Studiesoverview articles covering food and identity including race and gender, industrial labor, history of cuisine, the science of taste, fermentation, food justice, food waste, weight stigma, and globalization, among many other topics.
-
Policy Commons: North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
Over five million pages of in-depth surveys, reports, and research from more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies.
-
PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowOnline mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the United States