Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Japan Studies
- Literature & Theatre
Japan Studies: Literature & Theatre
A research guide detailing Japan studies resources in English and Japanese.
Japanese Literature & Theatre: Background Sources
There are many specialized encyclopedias and other reference materials dealing with Japanese literature and theatre. Most of the sources are available only in print. Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional titles.
- Historical dictionary of Japanese traditional theatrePrinted volume "covers all four genres of traditional Japanese theatre (nō, kyōgen, bunraku, and kabuki)"
- Historical dictionary of modern Japanese literature and theaterPrinted volume covers the "development and history of literature narrative, poetry, and drama in modern Japan"
- Kambun bibliographyAnnotated bibliography of resources for the study of kambun texts. Compiled in 2005 by Erin Brightwell
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
World-wide literary biographies, journal articles, critical essays; includes some coverage of major modern Japanese authors; fulltext
- New Kabuki encyclopedia : a revised adaptation of Kabuki jitenPrinted volume is the "most comprehensive guide" in English
- Nihon kindai bungaku daijiten / 日本近代文学大事典Multi-volume print encyclopedia of modern Japanese literature
- Nihon koten bungaku daijiten / 日本古典文学大辞典Multi-volume print encyclopedia of classical Japanese literature
- Reader's guide to Japanese literatureRimer's introduction to major works and writers in Japanese literature
- Japan knowledge ジャパンナレッジ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kabuki dictionary included in JapanKnowledge
Classical Texts
Multi-volume collections of Japanese classical and modern literary texts are available in the East Asia Library. These are just a small selection of major collections available in print and online. Check with the Japan Studies Librarian for additional titles.
- Japanese Text InitiativeApproximately 300 classical and some modern texts including poetry and No plays; includes some English translations
- Meiji bungaku zenshū / 明治文學全集99 volume print collection of Meiji era texts
- Nihon kindai bungaku taikei / 日本近代文学大系60 volume print collection of modern text
- Nihon koten bungaku taikei / 日本古典文學大系Standard 100 volume print collection of pre-modern texts ; also available online via the National Institute of Japanese Literature
- Shinpen kokka taikan / 新編国歌大観10 volume print collection of waka, Japanese classical poetry
- Japan knowledge ジャパンナレッジ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
80+ volume collection of pre-modern text with modern Japanese translation; print edition in the East Asia Library PL753 .S55 1994
- Waka dētabēsu / 和歌データベースCollection of Waka poetry
- Yōkyoku taikan / 謡曲大観7 volume print collection of Nō drama
Researching Literature & Theatre
This page provides some starting points for researching topics related to Japanese literature and theatre. To find articles on these topics use the following databases.
- CiNiiBooks and journals from wide range of Japanese university libraries
- International Bibliography of Theater & Dance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre including kabuki, nō and bunraku; includes Japanese, English and other languages; some English fulltext - Complete Database for Japanese Magazines and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present (Koseisha) 雑誌記事索引修正データベース This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major database for periodical articles published in Japanese, including local periodicals not present in other indexes. 1868 to present. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Institutions
The following institutions are major sites for the study of Japanese literature and theatre.
- National Institute of Japanese Literature / 国文学研究資料館Major research institute for Japanese literature includes digitized texts, catalogs and indexes
- Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum / 演劇博物館Good site for materials related to theatre especially kabuki
- Nogami Memorial Noh Theatre Research Institute / 野上記念法政大学能楽研究所Institute includes digitized collections related to Nō
Finding Translations
Check the following two sources to see if a Japanese work is available in English translation.
- Index TranslationumUNESCO database of worldwide translations
- Japanese Literature in Translation SearchSearch for translations of Japanese works into English and other languges
- Premodern Japanese texts and translationsList of major classical works with available English translations published in book or journals
- Translations Published in Monumenta NipponicaTranslations published in the journal which is available via JSTOR