Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Japan Studies
- Language & Linguistics
Japan Studies: Language & Linguistics
A research guide detailing Japan studies resources in English and Japanese.
Language Dictionaries / 国語辞典
- Japan knowledge ジャパンナレッジ This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Standard Japanese dictionary available via Japan Knowledge as デジタル大辞泉; printed volume in East Asia PL675 .D28 1995
The East Asia Library has a strong collection of Japanese dictionaries. If you are seeking a specialized dictionary, i.e., a dictonary of business terms in Japanese, Arabic-Japanese, etc., please check with the Japan Studies librarian.
- Kadokawa kogo daijiten / 角川古語大辞典Printed multi-volume dictionary of classical Japanese (pre-1868); East Asia PL682 .K32 1982
- Kenkyusha's new English-Japanese dictionaryStandard printed dictionary available in East Asia & Suzzallo Reference PL679 .K39 2002
- Kenkyusha's new Japanese-English dictionaryStandard printed dictionary; East Asia & Suzzallo Reference PL679 .K4 2003
- Kōjien / 広辞苑Standard print one-volume Japanese language dictionary; East Asia PL675 .S5 2008
- Nihon kokugo daijiten /日本国語大辞典
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-volume, comprehensive dictionary available via Japan Knowledge; printed volumes in East Asia PL675 .N46 2000 - Oxford Japanese mini dictionaryPrinted Japanese-English, English-Japanese dictionary; OUGL PL679 .O94 2009
Kanji Dictionaries / 漢和辞典
- Dai Kan-Wa jiten / 大漢和辞典Authoritative character dictionary; aka "Morohashi" dictionary; printed multi-volume; East Asia PL681.C5 M6 1989
- New Nelson Japanese-English character dictionaryStandard printed Japanese-English character dictionary; Easia & OUGL PL679 .N48 1997
Learning Japanese
The East Asia Library has a strong collection of textbooks for learning the Japanese language. These are just a few examples. Additional resources for learning Japanese including online audio resources linked to the Genki and Nakama texts are available at the Language Learning Center in Denny Hall.
- An integrated approach to intermediate JapaneseIncludes texts & CD-ROM
- Nakama : introductory Japanese--communication, culture, contextIncludes online lessons
- Shokyū Nihongo "genki" / 初級日本語 (げんき)"An integrated course in elementary Japanese"
Researching the Language
This page provides some starting points for researching topics related to Japanese language and linguistics as well as dictionaries and other material related to learning the language. To find articles on topics related to language and linguistics use the following databases.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LLBA; Linguistics; includes Japanese, English & other languages; no Japanese fulltext, some English fulltext - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive source for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
How to Type Japanese
- CosCom Learn JapaneseProvides info on installing and using IME (Input Method Editor) for the Japanese character set on Windows machines
The following sites provide information on installing and using Japanese characters on your computer via IME (Input Method Editor). Please check with the Japan Studies Librarian if you need further information.
- Japanese for Your MacChristopher Bolton's guide to using Japanese on Macs
- Wellesley Colleges Installing Foreign Keyboards GuideGeneral guide for Macs and Windows
On the Web
- Japanese Lessons via NHKDownload audio and text basic lessons for foreign speakers
- Kanji Alive"Web-based tool to help beginning and intermediate level Japanese language learners to read and write kanji"
- Kanji ConverterTranslates kanji into rōmaji