Research Guides
Japan Studies: Reference
A research guide detailing Japan studies resources in English and Japanese.
Japan Knowledge
Japan Knowledge: you can multi-search major encyclopedias and dictionaries including the ones below. PLEASE log off when you finish for other users
日本大百科全書(ニッポニカ)
日本国語大辞典
新選漢和辞典
大漢和辞典
字通
角川類語辞典
古事俗信ことわざ大辞典
角川古語大辞典
日本方言大辞典
国史大辞典
江戸名所図会
古事類苑
新版 能・狂言事典
新版歌舞伎事典
例文 仏教語大辞典
日本人物文献目録
デジタル大辞泉
数え方の辞典
情報・知識 imidas
現代用語の基礎知識
亀井肇の新語探検
JK Who's Who
日本人名大辞典
デジタル大辞泉
数え方の辞典
情報・知識 imidas
現代用語の基礎知識
亀井肇の新語探検
JK Who's Who
日本人名大辞典
日本人物文献目録
会社四季報
会社四季報
日本統計年鑑
日本長期統計総覧
日本国勢図会
プログレッシブ英和中辞典
ランダムハウス英和大辞典
プログレッシブ和英中辞典
Encyclopedia of Japan
誰でも読める日本史年表
誰でも読める日本史年表
週刊エコノミスト
新編 日本古典文学全集
Please see the full list of the contents: https://japanknowledge-com.offcampus.lib.washington.edu/contents/library.html
Reference
There are many specialized encyclopedias and other reference materials dealing with Japan. The following are a selection of print and online encyclopedias covering various subjects. Check with the Japan Studies librarian for additional titles. Other encyclopedias and dictionaries can be found here too.
- Columbia Companion to modern East Asian literaturePrinted guide to modern Japanese, Chinese & Korean literature
- Dictionary of the modern politics of JapanPrinted volume
- Encyclopedia of contemporary Japanese culturePrinted encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of modern Asia includes good coverage of Japanese topics & issues - Historical dictionary of postwar JapanPrinted volume
- Historical dictionary of TokyoPrinted volume
- Irasuto de miru Nihonshi hakubutsukan / イラストでみる日本史博物館Printed 3 volume encyclopedia of Japanese history
- JAANUS: Japanese architectural and art net users systemOnline art history & architecture encyclopedia
- Japan : an illustrated encyclopediaPrinted 2-volume encyclopedia
- Japan encyclopediaPrinted volume
- Nihon kingendaishi jiten / 日本近現代史辞典One volume standard dictionary of Japanese history
- Nihon shakai minzoku jiten / 日本社会民俗辞典Printed 4 volume encyclopedia of Japanese customs and folklife
- Rekishigaku jiten / 歴史学事典Printed multi-volume encyclopedia of historiography
- Routledge handbook of Japanese culture and society
- This link opens in a new window
"Cutting-edge and comprehensive survey of significant phenomena, institutions, and directions in Japan today"
How to Read Everything
Statistics
- 女性と男性に関する統 計データベース
Gender statistics database
- 総務省統計局
Statistics Bureau and Statistics Center, Japan
- Ministry of Finance: Statistics
財務省: 統計情報
- Bank of Japan Statistics
日本銀行 統計データ
- Data Archive, Social Science Japan
SSJデータアーカイブ
- JETRO Trade and International Payments Statistics
日本の貿易統計・国際収支統
- Links to Private Sector Statistics
インターネット提供の民間統計集
- Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare Statistics
厚生労働統計一覧
- Public Opinion Poll, Broadcasting Culture Research Institute NHK
NHK 放送文化研究所世論調査ファイル
- Public Opinion Polls / Surveys
内閣府 世論調査・アンケート
Manga & Anime
Maps
Historical Maps
Japanese Historical Maps : contains about 2300 early maps of Japan and the world
Japanese Maps of the Tokugawa Era UBC's one of the world's largest collections of maps and guidebooks of the Japanese Tokugawa period
Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei: Online database version of the 51 volumes of Japanese historical gazetteer. Includes 200,000 headings and function of creating spreadsheets and distribution maps.
Current Maps
電子国土ポータル (Geographical Survey Institute)
郵便番号検索システム (Postal Code Search)
For more map searching tips, visit National Diet Library's リサーチ・ナビ