e-Book Collections: Collections A-Z

Starting Points for eBooks

Below are three major collections of ebooks available at UW Libraries.

EBSCOhost ebook collection
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers.
Project Muse Books
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers.

Collections A-M

ABC-Clio eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductory books covering history, popular culture and more
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Textbooks, images and illustrations, self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search pharmacy references.
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Textbooks, multimedia, images, drug information, quick answers sources.
ACLS Humanities E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major academic books in fields ranging from area studies to sociology
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ASM Handbooks on metal engineering

Biodiversity Heritage Library
More than 40,000 mostly 19th c. natural history books and journals

Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical & nursing books

California Scholarship Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access to hundreds of University of California Press monographs.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Renown book series on history, language, literature and more
CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chemistry dictionaries and handbooks.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts & CME materials
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mental health textbooks, manuals and handbooks.

De Gruyter
As an independent academic publisher, contributing over 1,500 books and 16,000 journal articles every year, across 30 Humanities & Social Sciences subject areas.
Digitalia Hispanica
- This link opens in a new window
Over 160 Spanish language ebooks on history, literature, literary criticism, and poetry.

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials. Covers materials printed through the early 1900s.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books published in England between the years 1470 and 1700
EBSCOhost ebook collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers
eDuke books scholarly collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects published by Duke University Press
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books published in England between 1701 and 1800
Elgaronline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books in law, economics, and social and political sciences, including reference works and handbooks.
ENGnetBASE Engineering Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of handbooks and other engineering works
EnvironmentalENGINEERINGnetBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental engineering handbooks
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online directories including Business Rankings Annual, Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources, and Market Share Reporter.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia and other introductory books on all subjects

gutenberg-e
Small collection of recent history-related books

Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. See our HathiTrust Guide
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 400 technical engineering books published by IEEE
Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering and science books including ASM Handbooks
KSI e-Book / 한국학술정보 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Korean books on all subjects from KSI

Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS)
- This link opens in a new window
Computer Science books and conference proceedings published by Springer; 1997-2011

MIT CogNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brain science books plus related journals & encyclopedias
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MIT Press Direct is a distinctive collection of influential MIT Press books curated for scholars and libraries worldwide.

Collections N-Z

National Academies Press
More than 4000 freely downloadable books on science, engineering, and health policy

O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, video and other content on computer science and related topics (data science, data visualization, etc.). Published by O'Reilly and others.

OAPEN Library
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible European academic books, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Books and other publications by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OverDrive app will be discontinued in early 2023: https://resources.overdrive.com/libby-faqs/
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art reference works, biographies, and encyclopedias, including Grove Art Online and Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks in the fields of business, philosophy, political science & religion
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries covering all subjects

Oxford Scholarship Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of works from Oxford University Press.

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Philosophical works from Aristotle to Wittgenstein.

Patrologia Latina
- This link opens in a new window
Writings of early Church fathers in Latin
Project Muse Books
- This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books on all subjects from a wide range of academic publishers.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medicine, nursing & allied health books

RAND Reports
Reports on international security and public policy issues

Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects.

Science Direct eBooks
Full-text scientific, technical and health books

Scripta Sinica (Academia Sinica) 中央研究院漢籍電子文獻資料庫 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of more than 500 Chinese classics

Si bu cong kan / 四部叢刊
- This link opens in a new window
504 Chinese books published from 1919-1936

SIAM e-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 400 books published by Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mathematics & statistics books published by Springer
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical and drug texts, including Stedman's medical dictionary. User limits vary
SuperStar Chinamaxx Digital Library Collection 超星中文电子书集献 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Massive collection of Chinese books, mostly 1949 to present. See User Guide
Synthesis Collection of Technology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering & computer science works
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 65,000 e-books in the humanities, social sciences, law and built environment, primarily under the Routledge imprint.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Greek texts from Homer to the fall of the Byzantines

Torrossa: Edición Española Online
- This link opens in a new window
150 Spanish language ebooks on language and lliterature
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Free access to approximately 500 out of 2000 books published by the University of California Press covering all topics

University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books and digital projects in the humanities and social sciences, especially performing arts, classical studies, political science, American studies (especially disability and class studies), Asian and African studies.

Wiley Online Library
- This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 online books; especially strong in the STEM disciplines.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) This link opens in a new window
The World Bank's official open access repository. It provides access to 34,000+ WBG publications, research outputs and knowledge products (no project documents) since the year 2000. Also see Open Data, Documents & Reports, and World Bank Group Archives.