Education: Data and Web Resources in Education

A general education resource guide for students at University of Washington Bothell and Cascadia College

Data Resources

National Center for Education Statistics
is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is part of the Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education.
United States Department of Education
The web site for the U.S. Department of Education includes information on initiatives & priorities of the Education Department, research & statistics and publications published by the Department of Education. The site also includes information for parents, teachers and students.
Road Map Project
The Road Map Project is a collective impact initiative to boost student success from early learning to college and career in seven King County, Washington school districts: Auburn, Federal Way, Highline, Kent, Renton, (South) Seattle, and Tukwila. The Data Dashboard tool allows you to explore student demographics and education results in the Road Map Project region, including by district and school
Washington State OSPI (Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction)
Data and reports from WA OSPI office
Washington State Report Card
The Washington State School Report Card provides parents, educators, policymakers, researchers and other stakeholders in Washington State with information about K-12 public schools. It includes demographic information about students at the school, district and state levels, and data about student achievement on state-wide assessment. It also provides information about teachers, administrators, and other school staff.
Washington State Education Research and Data Center (ERDC)
ERDC focuses on providing longitudinal information and research about transitions between the education and workforce sectors to assist students, parents, educators, and policy makers when making decisions.
Center for Education Data and Research (CEDR)
Based at the University of Washington, The Center for Education Data & Research (CEDR) is a unique organization conducting empirically driven research on the most pertinent issues confronting education policy.
Education Policy & Data Center
provides free global education data, tools for data visualization, and policy-oriented analysis aimed at improving schools and learning in developing countries
National Assessment of Educational Progress
is often called the 'Nation's Report Card.' NAEP is the only nationally representative, continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. NAEP provides comprehensive measure of students' learning at critical junctures in their school experience.
Data.gov Education
Explore education datasets, apps, resources for the classroom, and details about paying for college. These datasets cover education at all levels.
The Education Trust
The Education Trust is a nonprofit organization that promotes closing opportunity gaps by expanding excellence and equity in education for students of color and those from low-income families from pre-kindergarten through college. Through research and advocacy, the organization builds and engages diverse communities that care about education equity, increases political and public will to act on equity issues, and increases college access and completion for historically underserved students.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
a resource for national and international statistics on education, literacy, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
World Bank -Education Data
World wide educational statistics
OECD iLibrary Education Statistics
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Education statistics database includes the UNESCO/OECD/EUROSTAT (UOE) database on education

Web Resources in Education

Washington State: Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI)
The OSPI web site includes information on the Washington Assessment of Student Learning (WASL). The site also supplies information about school districts in the State of Washington.
Washington Educator Skills Tests (WEST-B & WEST-E)
Overview of the WEST program and certification requirements
PESB Teacher Assessments (WEST-B & WEST-E)
Overview of Washington State requirements for teacher assessment and an overview of the West-E endorsement areas
edTPA for Washington
WA Professional Educator Standards Board webpage for edTPA.
United States Department of Education
The web site for the U.S. Department of Education includes information on initiatives & priorities of the Education Department, research & statistics and publications published by the Department of Education. The site also includes information for parents, teachers and students.
No Child Left Behind
The No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 reauthorized the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), the main federal law affecting K - 12 education. The NCLB incorporates four principles: accountability for results; more choices for parents; greater local control; and an emphasis on scientific research to determine best practices. There has been much discussion and controversy concerning this legislation.

Education: Data and Web Resources in Education

Data Resources

Web Resources in Education

Related Links & Guides