News: Historical

Historical Newspapers: Washington State

Image: Hoffman, Bernard. Two women reading a newspaper in the Congressional Library's Newspaper Reading Room. LIFE, 1941. Washington DC. LIFE photo archive hosted by Google. Web. 16 December 2013.

Seattle Times via Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, 1895-present
Tacoma News Tribune via Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, 1889-1976; 1992-present
Seattle Post-Intelligencer via Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, 1901-present
Washington Digital Newspapers at the Washington State Library
Newspaper page images, with full-text searching, 1875-1922
Historic newspapers in Washington, with new historical WA newspaper titles added each year. Browse newspapers by title, calendar date, or full text searching. Includes essays about the newspapers’ influence on their communities.
The Oregonian via Access World News
Full text, 1861-present
Chronicling America: Washington
Newspaper page images, 1836-1922
Small collection of early late 19th and 20th century Washington State newspapers including Cayton's Weekly (1917-1921), Tacoma Times (1903-1918), Daily Intelligencer (1876-1881), Seattle Daily Post-Intelligencer (1882-1889), Seattle Post-Intelligencer (1888-1899), and Seattle Star (1899-1922).
Early American Newspapers Series II
Newspaper page images, 1736-1900 (emphasis on 1820-1860)
Included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
Newsbank Retrospective
Full-text, 1970-1991
Selected coverage of issues and events in American history.
Bainbridge Review
Newspaper page images, with full-text searching, 1941-1946
The Bainbridge Review, a weekly newspaper owned by Walt and Milly Woodward and edited by Walt Woodward has earned national recognition for its coverage of the relocation and internment of more than 200 Bainbridge Island families of Japanese descent. Woodward editorialized against the relocation and devoted space in the newspaper to reports about their lives in the internment camps.

Historical Newspapers: United States

Image: Morse, Ralph. People buying out of town newspapers in Times Square during newspaer strike. LIFE, 1953. New York. LIFE photo archive hosted by Google. Web. 17 December 2013.

New York Times
Newspaper page images, 1851-2009
For 1980 to present, use US Newsstream.
African American Newspapers
Newspaper page images, 1827-1902
19th century newspapers, inluding photos and illustrations.
Baltimore Afro American
Newspaper page images, 1893-1988
Chicago Defender
Newspaper page images, 1905-1975
For 1975 to 1996, use Microfilm A4066. For 1999 to present, use Ethnic NewsWatch or for February 2008 to the present, use Access World News.
Chronicling America
Newspaper page images, 1836-1922
Search and view U.S. newspapers. Also includes a searchable directory of publication information for U.S. newspapers.
Early American Newspapers Series II
Newspaper page images, 1736-1900 (emphasis on 1820-1860)
Included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers
Newspaper page images, 1942-1945
Camp newspapers such as the Minidoka Irrigator and Topaz Times, most stories in English with some in dual languages.
Los Angeles Times
Newspaper page images, 1881-2010
For coverage from 1996 to the present, use US Newsstream.
Newsbank Retrospective
Full-text, 1970-1991
Selected coverage of issues and events in American history.
Pennsylvania Gazette
Newspaper page images, 1728-1800
Pittsburgh Courier
Newspaper page images, 1911-2002
Wall Street Journal
Newspaper page images, 1889-1989
For more recent coverage, use US Newsstream (1982-present), or Newspaper Source Plus (1994-present).
Washington Post
Newspaper page images, 1877–2006
For more recent coverage, use US Newsstream (1996-present), or Newspaper Source Plus (1995-present).

Historical News Magazines: United States

News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newsweek (1933-2012) and 14 other magazines covering events, international relations, and public policy from 1918 to 2015.

National Geographic Magazine Archive (1888-2015)
- This link opens in a new window
Document Images, 1888-2015
New Yorker via Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 2004-present (Bibliographic records, 1985-present)
TIME Magazine via Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1923-present

Historical Newspapers: Global

Image: Vandivert, William. A view of newspapers screaming headlines of war during the outbreak of World War II. 1939. LIFE, London.
LIFE photo archive hosted by Google. Web. 16 December 2013.

17th-18th Century Burney Collection of Newspapers
Full-text, 1757-1817
Early newspapers from Great Britain and its colonies, plus several French and Dutch papers.
Chinese Newspapers Collection
Newspaper page images, 1832–1953
English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 & Chinese Recorder 1868-1941
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
1975-1996
Index to FBIS Daily Reports summarizing foreign news broadcasts grouped by world region. For reports since 1996, use World News Connection.
The Guardian and The Observer
Newspaper page images, The Guardian, 1821–2003 and The Observer, 1791–2003
The Japan Times Archives
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper page images, 1897-2016
Searchable collection of digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser, and The Nippon Times; includes issues from March 22, 1897 through the final issue of the previous calendar year.
Times (of London)
Newspaper page images, 1785-1985
For more recent coverage, use Access World News or or Newspaper Source Plus.
Times of India
Newspaper page images, 1838-2003
World Newspaper Archive
Newspaper page images, 1800-1922
Growing collection of historical newspapers from around the non-Western world.

News by Date

These pages provide chronological listings of popular news sources and magazines published in the Pacific Northwest, the United States, and around the World.

1700-1850
1851-1899
http://guides.lib.uw.edu/content.php?pid=55672&sid=2367889
1900-1929
1930-1959
1960-1984
1985-present