The web resources to be used for your class assignment are linked below.
Today you will work to locate sources on a specific topic for your Literature Search Workshop, Annotated Bibliography, and Literature Review Matrix assignments.
1. Advice for Winter Quarter 2023:
- Use our 24/7 chat service for questions. Types of questions could include how to get to the full text of articles, cite in APA format, etc.
- UWB IT - Laptop and WiFi Hotspot Lending Program
You have access to a plethora of immediately available online resources including articles, public web sources, databases, e-videos, e-journals, and e-books.
2. Intro to the New Nursing Students Orientation Guide and handout.
- 2022-23 Orientation Guide handout in docx and pdf formats
3. Review Assignments (Julie's summary):
The Week 3: Ask Questions to Julie! (In Class Activity) group assignment page in Canvas includes the a link to the Community Partners list, and a Google doc to record your answers. Due on Sun. Jan. 22, 1 point.
The Week 4 Assignment: Meet Your Community Partner page in Canvas includes the Community Partners list.
After we meet in Week 3, the students will start exploring the literature to answer their PICOT questions that they created Weeks 3 & 4. In Weeks 5 through 8 you will be guided in critiquing different types of research articles such as quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, review, etc. that you will compile into a literature review matrix and annotated bibliography in Week 9 and 10. At the end of the quarter, you will report your progress with finding “evidence” (research articles) to support your PICOT questions in the form of a presentation.
Are we clear on the types of resources you need to start looking for? What questions do you/we have?
(Optional) Please see the instructions below both the CINAHL and PubMed areas for how to limit to various types of research articles
4. Questions/comments about the Canvas assignment for "Week 2 Assignment #1: Interlibrary Loan Account Setup" homework? Any questions about the UW Libraries Interlibrary Loan services? Suggestions for improvements to this assignment?
5. Questions/comments about the CINAHL Quiz in Canvas, titled "Week 2 Assignment #2: Searching in CINAHL - Scholarly Resources & Full Text"? What questions do you have about CINAHL?
- CINAHL - UW Restricted. How-to Guides from the UWB Campus Library (pdf), tutorials, and the UW HSL CINAHL Help Guide
- (Optional) Julie will search for medication errors and long term care (or something else) and discuss as a large group the search results. Look at the article title, date, journal name, publication type, abstracts, and subjects to see if relevant to topic. We will skim to try to locate more search words to revise your search to get different results in CINAHL.
Optional CINAHL Limits and Search Strategies:
- Publication Type – Limit results to source types such as Clinical Trial, Evidence-Based Care Sheet, Interview, Meta Analysis, Meta Synthesis, Nursing Diagnoses, Nursing Interventions, Randomized Controlled Trial, Research, Review, Statistics, Systematic Review, or Tables/Charts. Scroll down in the box to see the full list of types. You can select multiple items either by holding down the control key (Ctrl) on a PC, or the Apple button on a Mac computer.
- Clinical Queries – (What are they? Search strategies used, Help Sheet.doc) – Can limit to Therapy, Prognosis, Review, Qualitative, and Causation (Etiology). See the Help Sheet for definitions of High Sensitivity, High Specificity, and Best Balance.
- Quantitative article types: Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial
- Qualitative article types: Meta Synthesis, Qualitative (in Clinical Queries)
- Review article types: Meta Analysis, Review, Systematic Review
- If needed, you can type the word qualitative or quantitative in your search. (Optional UW HSL guide for "Finding Qualitative Research Articles")
- native americans and diabetes and qualitative
- aged and female and chronic pain and quantitative
- Can also add the CINAHL Heading of "Qualitative Studies" to your search.
6. Questions/comments about the PubMed Quiz in Canvas, titled "Week 2 Assignment #3: Searching PubMed (MedLine) for Research Articles" What questions do you have about PubMed?
Optional PubMed Filters and Search Strategies:
- Filter by Article Types: After you have completed a search, you can filter by a variety of article types including the sample below, and then and click on the "Show" button. (Ask your professor which article types are acceptable to use.)
- Quantitative article types: Clinical Trial, Controlled Clinical Trial, Multicenter Study, Pragmatic Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial, and Validation Study
- Review article types: Meta-Analysis, Review, and Systematic Review
- If needed, you type the word qualitative or quantitative in your search. (Optional UW HSL guide for "Finding Qualitative Research Articles")
- native americans diabetes qualitative
- aged female chronic pain quantitative
- Search for qualitative articles with MeSH Terms, by adding them to your search words. (List online.)
- "Qualitative Research"
- "Interviews as Topic"
- "Focus Groups"
- "Nursing Methodology Research"
7. APA Citing, UW Libraries Search, and Evaluating Sources Pages:
8. (Optional) Mining Citations -- Small Group Activity:
- Tutorial page for Mining CINAHL Results for New Search Words/Phrases.
- As you search think about what trends you see about your topic in the literature.
- Mine the article titles, abstracts, and subject headings for new words to help you refine your search results.
- Also, use the words to create new search phrases to see what else is available on your topic.