Skip to Main Content
Campus Library Logo

BNURS 460D: Translating Scholarly Knowledge to Nursing Practice (Winquist), [and Fall 2022, BNURS 360C: Critical Reading & Information Literacy (Wade)]: Library Workshop, wk 3 (360)

UW Bothell Nursing Students at Shoreline Community College

Library Workshop in week 3, Oct. 14

The web resources to be used for your class assignment are linked below.

Today you will work to locate sources on a specific topic for your Library Resources Workshop, Literature Review Matrix, and Annotated Bibliography assignments.

1. Advice for Autumn Quarter 2022:

  • Use our 24/7 chat service for questions. Types of questions could include how to get to the full text of articles, cite in APA format, etc.
  • UWB IT - Laptop and WiFi Hotspot Lending Program
  • You have access to a plethora of immediately available online resources including articles, public web sources, databases, e-videos, e-journals, and e-books.
  • Online Learning Support -- How to Access Library Resources

2. Intro to the New Nursing Students Orientation Guide and handout.

  • 2022-23 Orientation Guide handout in docx and pdf formats
    • Pages 1 through 4 are web addresses and screenshots of the following pages: Campus Library Homepage, Ask a Question, Orientation Guide for UWB Nursing Students, and the Nursing Research Guide.
    • Pages 5 & 6 is the “UWB Usernames and Passwords List” that includes many services available with your UW NetID & Password, that your Husky Card is your library card, Canvas information, and more.

3. Review Assignments (Julie's summary):

  • The Working with Community Partners page in Canvas includes the Community Partners Sign Up Sheet.
  • Group Project PICO Assignment & Submission due Nov. 10. 4 points.
  • Literature Review Matrix & Annotated Bibliography due Dec. 8 (in week 10). 15 points. 
    • DESCRIPTION:

    • This is an individual assignment, although you'll need to coordinate with your group to make sure that no more than 2 papers overlap with another member (see below).
    • This assignment is intended to develop your skills at finding relevant research publications that answer your group PICO question.  It also will help you develop your ability to extract and simplify key information from papers.
    • For this assignment, please do a literature search and identify research studies that help you answer your question.
      • Identify a total of 7 articles that are the most relevant to solving the problem in your PICO question
          • 5 of these 7 articles must be original data-based research and should not be reviews
          • At least 1 of these articles should be qualitative; think about a topic that is relevant even if it doesn’t directly answer your PICO question.
        • 1 of the 7 articles should be a published review article
        • 1 of the 7 articles should be gray literature
        • Note: A maximum of 2 out of 7 articles may overlap with other members of your group.  The reason for this is that we want you to start accumulating a decent number of relevant papers within your group to answer your PICO question. This will require coordination to ensure there isn’t too much overlap.  Analysis of the articles should be conducted independently.

Are we clear on the types of resources you need to start looking for? What questions do you/we have? 

(Optional) Please see the instructions below both the CINAHL and PubMed areas for how to limit to various types of research articles

4. Questions/comments about the Canvas assignment for "Interlibrary Loan Account Setup" homework? Any questions about the UW Libraries Interlibrary Loan services? Suggestions for improvements to this assignment?

5. Questions/comments about the CINAHL Quiz in Canvas, titled "Searching in CINAHL for Research Articles"? What questions do you have about CINAHL?

  • CINAHL - UW Restricted. How-to Guides from the UWB Campus Library (pdf), tutorials, and the UW HSL CINAHL Help Guide
  • (Optional) Julie will search for medication errors and long term care (or something else) and discuss as a large group the search results. Look at the article title, date, journal name, publication type, abstracts, and subjects to see if relevant to topic. We will skim to try to locate more search words to revise your search to get different results in CINAHL.

Optional CINAHL Limits and Search Strategies:

  • Publication Type – Limit results to source types such as Clinical Trial, Evidence-Based Care Sheet, Interview, Meta Analysis, Meta Synthesis, Nursing Diagnoses, Nursing Interventions, Randomized Controlled Trial, Research, Review, Statistics, Systematic Review, or Tables/Charts. Scroll down in the box to see the full list of types. You can select multiple items either by holding down the control key (Ctrl) on a PC, or the Apple button on a Mac computer.
  • Clinical Queries – (What are they? Search strategies used.) – Can limit to Therapy, Prognosis, Review, Qualitative, and Causation (Etiology). See the Help Sheet for definitions of High Sensitivity, High Specificity, and Best Balance.
  • Quantitative article typesClinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial
  • Qualitative article typesMeta Synthesis, Qualitative (in Clinical Queries)
  • Review article typesMeta Analysis, Review, Systematic Review
  • If needed, you can type the word qualitative or quantitative in your search. (Optional UW HSL guide for "Finding Qualitative Research Articles")
    • native americans and diabetes and qualitative
    • aged and female and chronic pain and quantitative
       
    • Can also add the CINAHL Heading of "Qualitative Studies" to your search.

6. Questions/comments about the PubMed Quiz in Canvas, titled "Searching in PubMed (MedLine) for Research Articles"? What questions do you have about PubMed?

Optional PubMed Filters and Search Strategies:

  • Filter by Article Types: After you have completed a search, you can filter by a variety of article types including the sample below, and then and click on the "Show" button. (Ask your professor which article types are acceptable to use.)
    • Quantitative article types Clinical Trial, Controlled Clinical Trial, Multicenter Study, Pragmatic Clinical Trial, Randomized Controlled Trial, and Validation Study
    • Review article types Meta-Analysis, Review, and Systematic Review
  • If needed, you type the word qualitative or quantitative in your search. (Optional UW HSL guide for "Finding Qualitative Research Articles")
    • native americans diabetes qualitative
    • aged female chronic pain quantitative
  • Search for qualitative articles with MeSH Terms, by adding them to your search words. (List online.)
    • "Qualitative Research"
    • "Interviews as Topic"
    • "Focus Groups"
    • "Nursing Methodology Research"

7. APA Citing, UW Libraries Search, and Evaluating Sources Pages:

8. (Optional) Mining Citations -- Small Group Activity:

  1. Tutorial page for Mining CINAHL Results for New Search Words/Phrases.
  2. As you search think about what trends you see about your topic in the literature.
  3. Mine the article titles, abstracts, and subject headings for new words to help you refine your search results.
  4. Also, use the words to create new search phrases to see what else is available on your topic.