History: Home

Welcome!

Translation: National Loan 1920. Subscribe. Banque de Paris et des Pays-Bas. Poster from the Library of Congress.

Citation & Writing Help

Historians generally use the Chicago Style format. For more citation info see Citing Sources.

Schedule a writing center appointment.

Additional information on researching & writing.

Starting Points: Books & eBooks

See the eBook FAQ for directions to limit your search to ebooks only.

By Topic - Type in the keywords that broadly describe your topic. For example: missionaries india women history
By Title - Type in the first few words of the book title in quotations. For example: "sovereign trickster".
By Author - Type in the last name followed by the first name of the author in quotations. For example: "giebel christoph"

Starting Points: Journal Articles

The following research databases will help you identify articles in the field of history. For additional research databases see those listed under History by Region & History by Topic.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on American & Canadian history
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on modern world history (Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe & Latin America from 1450 onward)
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best database for identifying articles & book chapters on all aspects of Medieval Europe, 300-1500
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best database for identifying articles & book chapters in classics and Greek & Roman history
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fulltext collection of scholarly journals & books in all disciplines

Starting Points - Primary Sources

This is a tiny sampling of primary source collections available at Libraries. More comprehensive lists can be found under History by Region, History by Topic & Primary Sources by Type. UW only digitized collections of primary sources are also listed on Digital Collections A-Z.