Landscape Architecture: Dictionaries / Encyclopedias

Subject Guide for Landscape Architecture Students.

General Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online
"Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms." Useful for finding information on landscape architects and specific gardens.
American National Biography Online
"...19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history..."
Deutsche Biographie
Profiles of of more than 730,000 personalities in the German-speaking area from the early Middle Ages to the present, including 50,000 biographical articles
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
"There are entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, covering all periods of Western architectural history. New entries include definitions of landscape terms, and biographies of modern architects."
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
More than 100 biographies of notable Canadians.
Glossary Of Landscape & Landscape Design Terms
This list of terms was compiled by Ben Bowen of Ross NW Watergardens.com.
National Cyclopaedia of American Biography
"The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography was a multi-decade series of volumes of biographies of Americans in every state, published by James T. White and Company. It contains more than 60,000 entries, mostly compiled from information provided by the subjects or their families, though sources are not usually credited."
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
"Over 60,000 biographies... of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history."

Encyclopedias by Chronological Period

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
"Features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance--from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. The resource provides art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments."
Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture
"The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture offers unparalleled coverage of all aspects of art and architecture from Medieval Western Europe, from the 6th century to the early 16th century."
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
"The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (GEAA) deals with all subject areas in American fine art including: biographies of major artists, architects and patrons, architecture, painting, new media, photography, sculpture, installation art, performance art, new media art, art education, and more."
Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art
"...Addressing people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands, Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia. Featuring rich and engaging articles on artists, artisans, patrons, painting, architecture, sculpture, cities, centres of production, theory, criticism, and more...."
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
"Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more"
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
"The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. Explore the works of Alvar Aalto and Charles and Ray Eames, or learn about the history of Navajo blankets and wing chairs in thousands of entries on artists, craftsmen, designers, workshops, and decorative art forms."