Skip to main content
Search Tips for Finding Landscape Architecture Books
- If you know what you want, go directly to the UW Libraries Catalog.
- If you are new to a subject, use WorldCat first to see all that is available.
- Tend to use the minimum number of words in your search. e.g., rather than "Richard Haag Japanese Garden Bloedel Reserve" use "Haag Bloedel Japanese" or just "Haag Bloedel"
- Use the search interface's "advanced search" feature. The advanced search will provide you with many features to limit your search to precise parameters.
- If you find a useful book, look at the record's subject headings listed for similar items.
- If using World Cat, think about limiting the search to books or articles to strain out unwanted media.
- Use World Cat's "cite/export" feature at the top of the record to automatically generate a citation.
- For general searches, use place and proper names along with the word "landscape architecture" or the garden or building type for which you are looking. e.g. , "gardens therapeutic," "landscape architecture Gustafson," "Roman nymphaeum"
- Find out if the search interface you're using has a truncation symbol, often an " * " placed at the end of a word. Using the search "landscap*" will retrieve all items with the words "landscaping," "landscaper," "landscape," etc.
- Ask Alan Michelson for help getting started.
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. During the closure of the Libraries due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) permits special access for current faculty, students, and staff to specific digital materials in HathiTrust that correspond to physical books held by UW Libraries. To access these materials, you must log into HathiTrust with the yellow log in button.
See our HathiTrust Guide
Featured Books at the Built Environments (BE) Library
Japanese Landscapes and Gardens, 1650-1950 by
Call Number: SB458 K84 2016 - Added 11/6/17
Publication Date: 2017-06-09
Moss, stone, trees, and sand arranged in striking or natural-looking compositions: the tradition of establishing and refining the landscape has been the work of Japanese gardeners and designers for centuries. In Japanese Gardens and Landscapes, 1650-1950 Wybe Kuitert presents a richly illustrated survey of the gardens and the people who commissioned, created, and used them and chronicles the modernization of traditional aesthetics in the context of economic, political, and environmental transformation. Kuitert begins in the Edo period (1603-1868), when feudal lords recreated the landscape of the countryside as private space. During this same period, and following Chinese literary models, scholars and men of letters viewed the countryside itself, without any contrivance, as the ideal space in which to meet with friends and have a cup of tea. Stewards of inns, teahouses, and temples, on the other hand, followed increasingly clich#65533;d garden designs prescribed in popular, mass-produced pattern books. Over the course of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the newly wealthy captains of industry in Tokyo adopted the aesthetic of the feudal lords, finding great appeal in naturalistic landscapes and deciduous forests. Confronted with modernization and the West, tradition inevitably took on different meanings. Westerners, seeking to understand Japanese garden culture, found their answers in the pattern-book clich#65533;s, while in Japan, private landscapes became public and were designed in environmentally supportable ways, all sponsored by the government. An ancient, esoteric, and elite art extended its reach to every quarter of society, most notably with the extensive rebuilding that occurred in the aftermath of the Tokyo earthquake of 1923 and the end of World War II. In the wake of destruction came a new model for sustainable public parks and a heightened awareness of ecological issues, rooted above all in the natural landscape of Japan. Featuring more than 180 color photographs and reproductions, Japanese Gardens and Landscapes, 1650-1950 illustrates a history of changes and continuities across a span of three centuries and makes an eloquent case for the lessons to be learned from the Japanese tradition as we face the challenges of a rapidly changing human habitat.
Hidden Landscapes: the metropolitan garden and the genius loci by
Call Number: SB472.7 W58 2014 - Added 11/6/17
This book aims at the landscape architecture of the contemporary enclosed garden as an expression of the genius loci, addressing the question of how the genius loci can be made accessible in the metropolitan landscape. If a garden - the classical means of expressing the landscape - is capable of expressing metropolitan conditions, then we may call it a metropolitan garden. The global phenomenon of metropolisation leads to a diffused and fragmented landscape with many different spatial conditions, existing next to and on top of each other, in a constant process of formation: the metropolitan landscape, as the spatial expression of the profound mix of city and landscape, nature and culture, production and consumption. The metropolitan garden, as a defined space in the continuous metropolitan field, as well as an anchor point to the landscape topography, provides an alternative way to access the landscape horizon, the reference to nature, and the connection to the underlying landscape, providing a new view on two quintessential themes in landscape architecture: nature and place.
Greening Cities, Growing Communities by
Call Number: BE Library - SB457.3 .H63 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Although there are thousands of community gardens across North America, only Seattle and a few other cities include them in their urban development plans. While the conditions and experiences in Seattle may be unique, the city's programs offer insights and lessons for other cities and communities. Greening Cities, Growing Communities examines: -- Planning and design strategies that support the development of urban community gardens as sustainable places for education and recreation -- Approaches to design processes, construction, and stewardship that utilize volunteer and community participation and create a sense of community -- Programs that enable gardens to serve as a resource for social justice for low income and minority communities, immigrants, and seniors -- Opportunities to develop active-living frameworks by strategically locating community gardens and linking them with other forms of recreation and open space as part of pedestrian-accessible networks Greening Cities, Growing Communities focuses on six community gardens in Seattle where there has been a strong network of knowledge and resources. These case studies reveal the capacity of community gardens to serve larger community issues, such as food security; urban ecosystem health; demonstration of sustainable gardening and building practices; active living and pedestrian-friendly neighborhoods; and equity concerns. The authors also examine how landscape architects, planners, and allied design professionals can better interact in the making of these unique urban open spaces, and how urban community gardens offer opportunities for professionals to have a more prominent role in community activism and urban sustainability.
Landscape Architecture, As Applied to the Wants of the West by
Call Number: BE Library - SB472.32.U6 C64 2002
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
First published in 1873, this text summarizes H.W.S. Cleveland's organic approach and its application of design and planning. The book is significant as the first attempt to define and develop a comprehensive scope for the new profession of landscape architecture in its formative period.
Digital Drawing for Landscape Architecture by
Call Number: BE Library - SB475.9.D37 C36 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-08
Digital Drawing for Landscape Architecture won the "Award of Excellence" from the 2012 Professional Awards and Student Awards by the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA). For a hundred years, pencil, pen, markers, and watercolor have been the principal tools of representation for landscape architects and urban planners. Today, those hand-powered aids have been replaced by computers and Computer-aided design (CAD). Digital Drawing for Landscape Architects bridges the gap between the traditional analog and the new digital tools and shows you how to apply timeless concepts of representation to enhance your design work in digital media. Building on the tried-and-true principles of analog representation, Digital Drawing for Landscape Architecture explores specific techniques for creating landscape design digitally. It explains the similarities and differences between analog and digital rendering, and then walks you through the steps of creating digitally rendered plans, perspectives, and diagrams. You'll explore: Computing Basics Raster and vector images Setting up the document Base imagery and scaling Hand-drawn linework and diagrams Text, leaders, and page layout Color, shading, and textures Creating a section elevation Perspective drawing Techniques for using the newest versions of Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, and Acrobat as well as older versions With more than 500 full-color drawings and photographs alongside proven techniques, Digital Drawing for Landscape Architects will help you enhance your skills though a unique marriage of contemporary methods with traditional rendering techniques.
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture by
Call Number: BE Library - Reference - NA31 .C864 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-04
Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to ziggurat, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of architecture available. Beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and concise style, it covers all periods of Western architectural history, from ancient times to the presentday. It also includes concise biographies of leading architects, from Brunelleschi and Imhotep to Le Corbusier and Richard Rogers. The text is complemented by over 250 beautiful and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections and diagrams. These include precise drawings of typical buildingfeatures, making it easy for readers to identify particular period styles. The first edition of the Dictionary of Architecture received excellent reviews. Now it has been fully revised, and expanded, bringing it completely up-to-date. New entries include definitions of landscape terms, and biographies of modern architects. Each entry is followed by a mini-bibliography,with suggestions for further reading. It also contains over 50 new illustrations. This is an essential work of reference for anyone with an interest in architecture. With clear descriptions providing in-depth analysis, it is invaluable for students and professional architects, and provides a fascinating wealth of information for the general reader.
Landscape Architecture by
Call Number: BE Library - Reference - SB472 .S58 2006
Publication Date: 2006-06-26
With more than 30 percent new material, thefourth edition of this classic is an indispensableresource for practicing landscape architecture professionalsas well as students. The most comprehensiveoverview of landscape architecture available, this referencecovers every aspect of planning, design, installation,implementation, and maintenance. Landscape architects, architects, and everyone elseinvolved with the shaping of our living environment willfind in this colorful book a systematic approach to thecreation of more usable, efficient, and attractive outdoorplaces. Simply put--it is the best one-volumecourse ever written on landscape planning and landscapedesign.
Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards by
Call Number: BE Library - Reference - SB472 .L363 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-28
The new student edition of the definitive reference on landscape architecture Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards, Student Edition is a condensed treatment of the authoritative Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards, Professional Edition. Designed to give students the critical information they require, this is an essential reference for anyone studying landscape architecture and design. Formatted to meet the serious student's needs, the content in this Student Edition reflects topics covered in accredited landscape architectural programs, making it an excellent choice for a required text in landscape architecture, landscape design, horticulture, architecture, and planning and urban design programs. Students will gain an understanding of all the critical material they need for the core classes required by all curriculums, including: * Construction documentation * Site planning * Professional practice * Site grading and earthwork * Construction principles * Water supply and management * Pavement and structures in the landscape * Parks and recreational spaces * Soils, asphalt, concrete, masonry, metals, wood, and recreational surfaces * Evaluating the environmental and human health impacts of materials Like Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards, this Student Edition provides essential specification and detailing information on the fundamentals of landscape architecture, including sustainable design principles, planting (including green roofs), stormwater management, and wetlands constuction and evaluation. In addition, expert advice guides readers through important considerations such as material life cycle analysis, environmental impacts, site security, hazard control, environmental restoration and remediation, and accessibility. Visit the Companion web site: wiley.com/go/landscapearchitecturalgraphicstandards
Site Construction by
Call Number: BE Library - Reference - TE177 .D56 1999
Publication Date: 1998-10-22
This efficiency-boosting resource gives you fast access to 350 of the most commonly used site construction details. Details for curbs, steps, lighting fixtures, walls, and much more are ready to be copied from the convenient spiral-bound, lie-flat format. In addition, this manual offers you a clear view of each detail both in section and in a photograph of a sample installation. To further simplify and speed up your design and adaptation work, each clear, standard-scaled detail is accompanied by full data on cost, CSI Masterformat reference, applications, installation, intensity of use and substrate constraints, maintenance and climatological requirements, and other relevant considerations. Perfect for on-site consultation or desktop at-a-glance reference, as well as time-saving adaptation to documents, Site Construction Details Manual gives landscape, design, and construction professionals the comprehensive and up-to-date selection of details they need, right where they need it. Any way you look at it, this all-in-one detail anthology is an invaluable on-the-job tool#65533;one that you#65533;ll definitely want to keep within reach. And it's a handy companion to the popular Landscape Construction Details CD-ROM!