BNURS 520 & 522: Translational Research I & II: Web of Science

Web of Science - UW restricted.   Contains citations indexes and summaries covering the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. The truncation symbol is the asterisk (*).

• Strengths: (1) The "Citation Network" feature, and (2) It is a large database.
• Weaknesses: (1) Cannot limit by randomized controlled trial, clinical trial, qualitative, or quantitative, but you can type them in as topic words, and (2) Cannot format citations in APA format.

The Web of Science Search page includes screen shot instructions including: Search Operators, Advanced Search Query Builder, Cited Reference Search, Search Results, Search History, Marked List, Saving and Exporting Marked Lists, and more.

To access Web of Science away from campus, click on the Web of Science link above and you should be prompted to login with you UW NetID and password.

To search in the Web of Science:

1. Type your search words into the All Fields box, such as:  registered nurse and job satisfaction
                                                                                                        or
                                                                                          improve and nurse and job satisfaction and retention
2. (Optional) If needed, change the All Fields box to Topic, Title, Author, Publication Titles, Year Published, Affiliation, Funding Agency, Publisher, etc.
3. (Optional) If needed, click on the + Add row button to add more search boxes.
4. (Optional) Click on the + Add date range button to limit by date. Click on the Publication Date box to select the years you want to limit to, such as: All years, Last 5 years, or Custom date range. Index Date limits options are also listed.
5. Click on the Search button.

6. Look at your results for citations of interest, (see the search results example below).

Click on the word "Relevance" located above the search results to open the popup list of sort categories. Experiment with the different sort features, such as "Citations: highest first," "Usage (all time): most first," and "Date: oldest first," etc.

The Relevance button, located above the search results:

The popup list of sort options:

Look for the Citations link to the right of the citation (see the example below). If it has been cited, click on the number to see if this leads you to more citations of interest. Please Note: Older articles are more likely to have been cited than newer articles. A higher "Citations" number can signify a popular article, or an article of importance. You can also click on the References below the Citations link.

7. Click on either the title, or the Show more link to view the abstract, if available, (see the example above).

• Click on the Related records link on the right to see similar records based on shared references.

8. Click on the purple Check for Full Text - W button (see the examples above and below), the free full text from publisher links, or other database links to locate the full text of the article.

• Another option is to type or paste in the article or book title from the citation into the UW Libraries Search system to view online and print holdings.